iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Friday Thoughts

4 Comments

This weekend will be a 3 day weekend for my hubby.  We don’t have any plans except to relax and play it by ear (or stomach).  Last weekend I treated my hubby to a “surprise date.”

It included a pit-stop at McDonald’s, a couple of donuts, and a stroll around the local park.

The park was new for us.  We’ve had it on our to-go list for ages, but we never got around to it.  Since I was feeling a lot better from my cold, I decided that it would make a great place to munch our donuts and enjoy the fall weather.  Everyone else must have had the same thought since they were all out.

There were also a lot of people having their pictures professionally taken.  I guess if you want to have a great setting for a family photo, this park would be it. Sure beats those flat, blurry scenes we always had to stand in front of in our old family pics.  School picture day was even worse – I would always get the blue screen which would inevitably draw out every blemish and amplify my bad hair day to the max.  Course, these would be the same pics that would go up on the wall with parental pride.

Ah, youth.  Me misses thee not.

We also had a competitive game of bananagrams.

Even though I was an English teacher (college level, too!), I stink to high heaven when it comes to anything “word” related.  Crosswords baffle me and scrabble makes me cry.  Bananagrams is bearable because I’m ultimately out to win by being the first one done, not by generating nifty, difficult words that start with q.

Hubby always comes out with the big words when he plays.

It makes me cry.

That’s his play.  Weal?  Rho?! and what the heck is tor??

And I was quite proud to get “dragons” (hey, it has more than 3 letters!).

Still, in the end, who won?

Me.

I think it was my brilliant use of z in FEZ that just stumped his concentration. It’s all about strategy. 😉

Whatever we end up doing this weekend, I know that it will involve a piece (or three) of this:

Pumpkin Spice Pull-apart Bread.  I followed the recipe from Julie’s blog Willow Bird Baking, and I can’t wait to try a piece.  It smells gorgeous and looks delicious.  I’ve been wanting to make a pull-apart and this pumpkin version fit perfectly.

(Note: I added a dash of ground cloves to the spice mix and only used 1/2 cup of sugar.  I also used a maple glaze and iIt took my glass loaf pan about 45 minutes to bake in total.  I also lined the pan with parchment paper so it was easy to slip out to cool.)

Hope you and yours have a wonderful weekend!  Let’s make it a fun one, shall we? 🙂

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

4 thoughts on “Friday Thoughts

  1. I LOVE scrabble and crosswords! But I love pumpkin pull-apart bread more. Looks SO GOOD.

    • It was sooooo delicious, I can’t tell you how much. You just have to make this bread. 🙂 Julie’s instructions are great!

      I have crossword envy. I would love to do them but I can’t get my brain to work right. Now, find-a-word? I’ve got that down pat. 😉

  2. Your pull-apart looks gorgeous! I hope it tasted as good as it looked 🙂

    • Thank you! We had a bit when my hubby came home and we couldn’t resist going back for seconds. Thank you for the lovely and easy to follow recipe. 🙂 This type of bread intimidated me for a long time and it was great to finally tackle it and succeed!

Please Leave a Scribble