iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Recipe: Matzo Ball/No-Chicken Soup

Leave a comment

I bought a box of Matzo ball mix ages ago when my local grocery had it on discount.  This is the type I picked up:

(source)

I had been wanting to try matzo ball soup for ages.  I’m not Jewish, so I haven’t had the pleasure of eating a lot of traditionally Jewish food.  The idea of little fluffy balls of dough in a light soup sounded just like the sort of thing I’d like, so I bought this mix on a whim, thinking one day I’d get around to making them.

That opportunity came last week when I came down with my cold.  I had bought a butternut squash to make a no-chicken soup, but altered the recipe to include matzo balls. The recipe I created isn’t your traditional matzo ball soup recipe – like this one.  For one, it’s vegetarian.  It also has things in it like squash, a bit of evaporated milk, and oregano.

Even though it deviated from the traditional recipe, this soup soothed my sore throat and settled my tummy.  It was exactly the right balance of substance and broth.  The hubby even liked the matzo balls and deemed the soup a good one to keep!  I think I’ll put it into my repretoire of soup recipes, and I’ll definitely make it again the next time I start to feel unwell (it’s super fast and easy).

Quick review of the matzo ball mix: The box contains two packages with each packet making about 10 balls (ping pong size).  The mix was easy to put together and they floated when I cooked them.  The final product was a nice dumpling that was more solid than airy. It was slightly salty, but the flavor mingled with the soup after it had been stored a day, so I didn’t notice the saltiness afterward.  The balls kept just fine in the soup and I was able to keep it in the fridge.  Next time, I might go the parsley route, or another herb, but to be honest, I think they’re just right the way they are – especially if you’re wanting something plain.

Quick review of Imagine No-Chicken Broth:

(source)

This is also the first time I’ve tried Imagine’s No-Chicken Broth.  I was going to make my own version of “chicken” broth, but I didn’t want to shell out $3 for leeks.  So, I opted for this instead and I’m glad I did!  The broth is pretty tasty, if a bit light.  It doesn’t dominate at all, so it’s perfect for something like a “chicken” soup (vegetarian, of course).  The sodium content is also okay (19% dv), considering, and it isn’t all that expensive (it cost less than the leeks and it seriously cut down on my cooking time – a plus when you’re sick).  I’m going to use this again for other “light” soups.

This soup also counts as a My100 entry!  🙂

(Disclaimer:  All reviews are always my own.  I just do it for fun and for my own record-keeping.)

Matzo Ball/No-Chicken Soup

(Note: Adapted from The Complete Cooking Light Cookbook. My adaptations are in red.)

Ingredients

  • Matzo Ball mix of your choice (either make them yourself, or make them by box)
  • non-stick cooking spray
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 1 cup diced carrot
  • 1 cup diced celery
  • 1 tsp crushed garlic (more or less to taste)
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 container Imagine No-Chicken Broth (or 4 cups of your broth of choice)
  • 1/2 of a small butternut squash, diced
  • 2 tbsp evaporated milk
  • Pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Boil squash in separate pot until soft.  Set aside (do not drain – you’ll be adding the squash water to the soup later).
  2. Spray soup pot with non-stick cooking spray.  Turn heat to medium and add onion, carrot and celery.  Cook until onions begin to go translucent.  Add garlic and cook a minute longer.
  3. Add flour, thyme and oregano.  Cook 1 minute
  4. Stir in broth, squash, squash water, and pepper.  Cook 25 minutes. Add evaporated milk and stir.
  5. While soup is cooking, make matzo balls in a separate pot (again, follow the directions of whatever recipe or box you’re using).  Once balls are cooked, remove with slotted spoon and add to soup.
  6. Serve!

Makes about 8 servings.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

