iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Steamed buns, nikuman, or baozi

1 Comment

I get it into my head sometimes to just do something completely new, completely different, and so completely not what I planned the day before.

This morning, I decided to make nikuman.

Except, not quite nikuman because that would involve pork.  And I don’t do pork.  At least not for me, and by golly, these buns were going to be MINE.

And I’ve never made nikuman, ever.  Unless you count the premade ones in the freezer, but I haven’t bought any of those for years (and they don’t count).

And I may have made 12 of them, and obviously I can’t eat 12.

I did eat 3, though, but that wasn’t my fault. I mean, just look at them:

buns3

I used a packet of Banh Bao flour bought at my local asian grocery story.  I picked it up, and the steamer sheets, on a whim a year and a half ago.

Late is better than never, right?  😀

The packet basically contained a mixture of flours and leavenings.  All I had to add was a cup of milk, a 1/4 cup of splenda (or a 1/2 cup of sugar) and a tablespoon of olive oil.  After a bit of kneading, I was ready for the 30 minute rise and bun making.

bun2

The majority of the buns are filled with a mixture of:

  • 6 or 7 shitake, diced
  • 2-3 leaves of bok choy, diced
  • 1 bunch of green onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 tsp diced ginger
  • about 1 tbsp soy sauce

This is all horribly lacking in precision because I basically tossed ingredients together that I thought would taste good.

bun

I did take a bit of creative license and filled one bun with some leftover curry from last night.  It was cold, so it was easy to make the bun, but once it was cooked, it burnt my tongue.  😛

Definitely be careful with your fillings and don’t be a glutton!  Unlike me.  I was too eager to chow down and now I am paying for my lack of restraint.

I also filled two with koshian (a sweet adzuki bean paste), but I’m waiting to have those for when hubby comes home. 🙂

Making the buns was a lot easier than I thought  – I’ve always bought them in the past, and even then it seemed like sheer luck to get a packet that not only was vegetarian but tasted good.

These buns are fantastic and the flour mix was easy and delicious!  I’m definitely going to try out more fillings the next time I get the craving for steamed buns.  I’m thinking a chocolate filling or even a cream cheese filling would be wonderful!

Update on aikido:  Well, after a lot of thought, and the dawning realization that over a $120 a month for lessons on an electronic debit basis was a bit high, we’ve decided to put our aikido on hold and instead, try out a few other things before committing. 🙂  I’m very thankful for what our short time in aikido taught us, and it’s not like we can’t join later.  As it is, we’re going to poke our noses into other hobbies/activities before we settle.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

One thought on “Steamed buns, nikuman, or baozi

Please Leave a Scribble

