iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

To Thine Own Self

Leave a comment

I’m in my 30s.  I’ve gone from being the burrito eating couch potato teenager who hated to even walk across the parking lot let alone down the street, to a woman who’s realized that her body isn’t entirely her own.

c28c7d9cd4d0426f6e51d9ca786ec0d6

It doesn’t belong to someone else, either.  Apparently, it belongs to itself.  I only live off of it like a camper van with limited access parking on someone’s land.  I just take up residence and from time to time, stomp all over it, mow it, tidy it and generally live off of it.

And I had no idea what it was going through. 😮

I still don’t, not really.  Yesterday, my mood decided to pack its bags for the south and I turned into a short tempered, upset and angry ball of sap.  I dripped malaise everywhere and brought our entire house down with me.  Had anything happened to make me mad?  No.  Everything was going really well and in fact, just hunky-dory!  But I was back to where I had been during the winter: verge of tears, shaky emotions and short of wick. 😦

What I had done was eat dairy on Thursday.  For the first time in over two months, I had milk, cheese and butter.  I was expecting typical lactose intolerance reactions – bloated tummy, stomach pains, etc.  What I got instead, was a revisit of Winter Hell 2014.

pickles2I’m not 100% sure if the dairy caused my emotion spiral, but there are apparently a lot of people who have experienced the same thing.  I just never knew that something so inconspicuous could be so dramatic.  I’ll be giving the dairy thing a go again later in the month, but this time I’m going to pay attention to how I really feel.  If dairy does cause me to experience a mild depression for two days after eating it, trust me, it’s gone.

And that’s the funny thing about this whole elimination diet thing.

I never knew that I would be so sensitive to food.  When we reintroduced wheat/gluten last week, I had the most horrible stomach cramps.  I had to clutch my blue heated rice bag to my tummy all night to get to sleep.  The experience was so bad, that I don’t think I want to go through with it again, but we will at least once more to see if I react the same way with only a “bit” of gluten.

pickles3

How’s the hubby, you might ask?  He’s actually doing better than me and I was only doing this to go along with the ride!  We both felt bloated from the gluten, but the dairy hardly fazed him.  Except for a bit of tummy twinge, he did okay.  No headaches, no nothing, really.  Disappointing, since that would have given us at least something.

Then there’s me.  All in pain and with a shattered emotional well-being.

Go figure.  🙄

And you know what really upsets me about all of this?  It isn’t that I might have to be gluten and dairy free for the rest of my life.  Sure, it’s a bit of a social pain to be the dreaded triad of any guest list (no, sorry, I can’t eat that bread with butter or the steak you lovingly prepared…).  But that’s not really all that bad.  What’s really bad is that I didn’t even have a clue that the food was doing all of this damage to my body and all the while it was just trying to do its best.  The poor thing had to deal with the constant barrage of gluten and dairy and I was ignoring all of it.  😥 Just thinking about all of the stress it had to go through when I was a teenager makes me want to cry.

Well, not any more.  I’m going to be better at helping my body be the best.  I’m going to try to listen to it more carefully and not ignore the subtle shouts to “just stop it!” it sends my way.  Try is the key word here.  I’m nowhere as in tune with my body as I ought to be.  But at least I’ll stop to listen. I think it deserves at least that. 🙂

picklesHere’s a recipe for pickles that’s easy and delicious.  I tweaked it slightly from the Flour, too cookbook.  They’re amazing on salads, sandwiches and on their own.  Both slightly sweet and tangy, they fit the bill for complex flavors.  Oh, and those croutons poking out behind my spinach leaf?  Ian’s Gluten Free Italian Croutons. They’re so delicious that I plan to buy them regardless of whether we’re gluten or dairy intolerant.

Pickles

Ingredients

  • 4 English cucumbers (or homegrown cucumbers that are at least 6 inches in length)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup white wine vinegar
  • 4 tsp Ball Dill Pickle spice (or your own pickling spice, if you have some)
  • 1 tsp mustard seed
  • 1 tsp celery seed
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seed
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder

Directions

  1. Slice cucumbers about 1/4 in thick and place in a large container with a tight lid.
  2. In a medium saucepan, combine the sugar and vinegar and heat on medium until the sugar dissolves.
  3. Remove pan from heat and add all of the spices.  Pour over cucumbers and let cool to room temperature before you refrigerate.
Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

