iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Sun-dried Tomato Hummus and Lentils

Leave a comment

hummus 2I’m learning a lot about myself on this gluten and dairy free journey.  I’ve been shocked by just how “routine” our meals had become.  After ditching a lot of processed foods years ago (or so I thought!), it was a real eye-opener when I found that the only gluten free “meat substitute” was Quorn tenders.   😮   My entire repertoire of substitutes contained wheat and I was stuck in a very scary situation.

What’s for lunch??

I hadn’t realized just how much my lunches depended on some form of sandwich.  Of course, homemade soup and salad were still the shining stars, but I was dependent on the “quick fix” meat substitutes provided.  Want a quick meal?  Just heat up a few chik’n tenders and voila!  Not sure what to eat but starving?  Fix up a quick veggie burger and you’re done.  While a bit healthier than, say, eating out or gorging on high fat red meat, it honestly wasn’t much better. :/

Enter gluten free eating and suddenly I had to actually cook.  And here I thought that was what I was already doing!  Ha!

So, lunches and dinners around this house have really changed.  I’ve started making meals from my vegan cookbooks that I’ve never tried before and we’re eating a much more varied green diet.  It wasn’t like we weren’t eating kale before, but we’re eating it with quinoa now!

Here’s my latest discovery: homemade hummus!  I’ve never bothered making it before and I’m not sure why.  I guess I thought it’d be easier to just buy it, but honestly, I find the store bought hummus to be a bit too much – too salty, too oily, too something.

This hummus, on the other hand, is delicious!  I snagged the recipe from a blog I discovered called The Simple Veganista.  Julie’s blog is both beautiful and packed full of really delicious sounding recipes.  This was a definite winner and has converted me over to making homemade hummus for life.  🙂

(And that piece of bread holding it all together?  That’s my first loaf of gluten free bread.  🙂  Not too bad, but I can’t say it was a definite winner.   I’ll be experimenting more with different recipes and hopefully come up with something that I can post.)

hummus

Sun-dried Hummus with Lentils

(Notes:  This recipe hails from The Simple Veganista.  I don’t buy tahini so I opted to leave it out.  I also used the 1/4 cup or so of soaking liquid from the tomatoes as part of my water count.  Julie suggests adding more olive oil to replace the tahini, but I didn’t bother.  It tasted wonderful to me, but suit your own tastes.)

Ingredients

  • 1 can of garbanzo beans, rinsed
  • 6-8 pieces of sun-dried tomatoes, diced (I used dried ones without the oil and followed her advice of soaking them in water for 15 minutes before proceeding)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, mashed
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup water, as needed

Directions

  1. Add all of the ingredients, except the water, to a food processor and pulse until thoroughly mashed. Add water as you pulse to reach the right consistency for you. 🙂

 

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

