iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Bento Take 5 – Shoyu Chicken Thighs

Leave a comment

ponyhaJanuary has been a harsh, harsh month. I get the feeling that the horse doesn’t like me.  Since I’m a monkey (it’s the only astrological sign I know, thanks to my local Chinese buffets!), I can see how horses and monkeys don’t mix.  Still, I can’t imagine what I did to deserve quite this much punishment.

I’m trying to get things back on track again.  When life goes off rails, it doesn’t just skid, does it?  We’ve had everything from house to weather to health problems this month and there’s still 2 more weeks to go until February! 😦

I also have a pile of posts I want to write but so little time to sit down and do it.  There are homemade oreos to post and chocolate brownie cheesecakes to rave (and moan) about.  I have Jillian Micheal’s Hard Body dvd to review and I’d love to have a go at a few more poetry posts.  No wonder many full time bloggers give up their day jobs just to keep up!

In between the hectic new year, I’ve been experimenting a bit more with the hubby’s bento.  This time I gathered inspiration from a post by Mesubim called “Kids Drums” – chicken drumsticks, Japanese style.  I really liked the look of them and so adapted them for my husband’s taste and my cabinet supply.

bento 5aThe slightly sticky, saucy chicken thighs went really well with the kimpira gobo and stir fry.  They tasted “really” good, according to the hubby, and they were definitely easy to cook.  It’s a fast, easy recipe that works really well for bento and the ingredients are adaptable to what you have in the pantry.

bento5

Shoyu Chicken Thighs

(Note: Exact measurements are guesses. I really just drizzled this and poured on that, so use the amounts as a guide.  The original recipe was adapted from Mesubim.)

Ingredients

  • 1 – 2 chicken thighs, skinless
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sake
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp honey (or golden syrup in our case since it was all I had)
  • 1 – 2 tbsp water

Directions

  1. Cook chicken thighs in a bit of oil in a skillet on medium heat until cooked through.
  2. Add sake and soy sauce until begins to brown – be careful not to burn it.
  3. Add honey and water and scrape the bottom of the pan to deglaze.  Cook perhaps a few minutes longer as the liquids evaporate and turn sticky.  Serve hot or add to bento.

 

 

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

