iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Bento Take 4 – Kayaku Gohan

Leave a comment

My hubby’s bentos are at the mercy of my own cravings.  I make his bento right before I take it into work (we work at the same company), so I usually eat a variant on his bento theme.  Lately I’ve been really wanting makisushi, but I’ve had little time to prepare it.  I had high hopes of having some time on Saturday to make it ahead, but chores got the better of me. 😕 I really need to make my Saturday day off more of a me day and less of a chore day!

I still wanted something that was different, though, and I wanted it to be my rice.  The best thing about sushi, in my opinion, is how all of the flavors meld together from the rice vinegar to the sugar and the soy sauce soaked shitake mushrooms.  I love shitake mushrooms.  😀  So, I decided to make kayaku gohan.

rice2Kayaku gohan is a wonderful rice dish that’s almost a meal in itself (at least, if you eat as much as I do!).  You blend shitake, gobo, carrot and aburage (fried bean curd) with stock ingredients and just set your rice cooker a go-go!  It’s super easy but absolutely tasty and a wonderful complement to other foods.

goboFor his bento, he had kayaku gohan, with seasoned chicken thighs and some nimono (a potato/vegetable dish).  Everything was easy to prepare an hour ahead, and I was able to portion out enough for the both of us.  The rice does make more than even I can eat, but it freezes easily and you can just whip it out the next time you need it and reheat it with no problems.

rice

Kayaku Gohan

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of white rice
  • 4 – 5 Shitake mushrooms soaked in hot water for about 15 – 30 minutes, cut into thin strips
  • matchstick cut gobo and carrot (I use the pre-chopped frozen bagged gobo and carrot mix pictured above)
  • 1/2 – 1 piece of aburage, diced
  • 1 tbsp sake
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups of dashi stock

Directions

  1. Wash rice and drain well.  Add rice to rice cooker and pour in dashi stock.
  2. Add veggies and seasonings and mix well with wooden spoon.
  3. Set rice cooker to cook.  If your cooker is like mine, you’ll only need one cook cycle.  If you go to stir your rice and it’s still a bit undercooked, set it cooking again.

 

 

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

