iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

French Toast Light

1 Comment

I love blueberries. Especially large, round berries that promise sweetness, flavor and summer love.  This being January with nary a fruiting bush in sight, I was resigned to eating my berries once summer strolled back into my backyard (and grocery).

So, imagine my excitement when I saw a pint of these blues on sale at my local Whole Foods.  I may or may not have squealed a bit. 😳

In a lot of ways, I’m a bit lucky.  My hubby could really not care less about whether blueberries occupied our fridge space, so I knew that the entire pint was MINE.  What I had to do was contrive different ways to cook these berries where their plumpness, brightness and flavor would be highlighted, but not an intricate part of the recipe that the hubby would miss them if he went without.

Let’s just say that pancakes are wonderful.

And french toast. Definitely can’t forget about the french toast.

french toast

My french toast is part my mother’s recipe but mostly my adaptation. I lightened it, spiced it up a bit and pumped up the protein for a french toast that tastes wonderfully decadent but doesn’t become a calorie nightmare.

Most french toast recipes include cream, butter, and a rich bread (such as brioche).  While that will give you a delicious french toast, I’d rather rejig things a bit so that I can feel better about eating it for breakfast, and with more frequency than the original recipe (and still be tasty!).

So, whip out your egg whites, whole wheat bread and skim milk, and I’ll give you the perfect companion to blueberries.

French Toast Light

(Note: This recipe serves 2. I mention the brands I use, but go ahead and substitute as you will.  Of course, if you substitute items with higher calorie counts, you’ll end up with a heavier french toast.)

Ingredients

  • 4 slices of whole wheat bread (I use Healthy Life 100% Whole Wheat)
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup skim milk
  • a few dashes of cinnamon
  • a dash of pepper (I love a bit of pepper in my french toast, but I realize that some might find this odd. Try it, but if you don’t like it, then don’t add it.)
  • cooking spray
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup berries

Directions

  1. Mix egg whites with milk and spices in a bowl wide enough for a slice of bread.
  2. Heat frying pan coated with cooking spray on medium heat.
  3. Dip slices of bread one at a time into the egg white mixture and place directly onto hot pan.
  4. Cook 5 or so minutes until lightly browned, flip and repeat until all 4 are done.
  5. After the french toast has cooked, place berries into the hot pan and “saute” until the berries look like they might burst.  Keep scooting them around the pan as they cook.  This might only take a few minutes and you don’t want them to pop or scorch.
  • Place two slices of toast on plate, top with berries and a drizzle of syrup.  Eat and enjoy the feel of summer on your tongue. 🙂

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

One thought on “French Toast Light

  1. Pingback: Packaged Love « iscribblings

Please Leave a Scribble

