iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Fighting through the fitting room jungle

3 Comments

“That looks really good on you!”

Was that a comment I made to myself while I tried on my fifth swimsuit top in a spacious, but invariably cluttered fitting room?

Nope, it came from a daughter to her mother a few doors down, but it was a comment that made me beam all the same. 😀

I just love compliments – especially when they’re given naturally and spontaneously.    I try to tell people that I love their shoes or their top when it strikes me, but I’m ashamed to say that I fail more often than not.  I had many moments at the mall where I loved an outfit someone was wearing but didn’t mention it.  These were lost moments not only to speak out and possibly make someone’s day, but to see the beauty in people and pointing it out.

It also turned into a failed lesson as I quickly turned my gaze back at myself, squeezed into an obviously too tight top, and continued in my negativity. 😦

What could have been a great moment where I realized that we are beautiful and that clothes are just bits of clothe stitched together turned into an agonizing two hours spent cramming into swimsuits and noting all the bits that “didn’t fit”.

At the end of the day, I did walk away with a suit, and I think what I picked out says a lot about where I am.

Let’s get right to the “bottom”:

I knew exactly what I wanted – something that covered me even when I was in the water and would still allow for movement.  When I saw these boardshorts at Everything But Water by LaBlanca, I knew I had just the thing.  They’re made from a sturdy fabric and they fit very nicely across the front.

My top was a bit more difficult due to my size, but I had luck with a tankini that fit a size up from my normal size.  Did I feel bad about this? No.  Because swimwear makers are the spawn of the devil and are out to make all women feel bad about their bodies.

Well, okay, so that might be a slight exaggeration. Maybe some women love the way they look in a bikini.

Kudos to the wonderfully helpful shop assistant at Everything But Water.  I had the frazzled lady climbing ladders and rifling through hundreds of tops trying to find something that matched my shape.  After 5 misses, I went back to Macy’s and found one that didn’t make me cringe (or cost nearly $100!).  It’s a tankini from Captiva.  The colors are a bit brighter and more varied than I’m used to, but I love it.  It “pops” paired with my shorts and the round rings are a cute addition.

Source: soma.com via iscribbler on Pinterest

While I’m nowhere near string bikini level of confidence, I was at least buying a suit.  Sure, I looked like I was going for a leisurely walk along the shorefront, but it was for swimming.  Considering how the last time I had worn a suit was when I was 10, that says a lot about how far I’ve come.  A year ago would have seen me scorning swimwear.  Now, I can’t wait to get out of the house with my suit!  That’s a level of confidence that I’m quite proud of.

We have a lovely pool at our apartment complex that we’ve yet to use, and I’m actually looking forward to it.  Hubby has also promised to teach me how to swim. 😮

Speaking of hubby, can I just say that it’s horribly unfair how easy it was to buy him swim gear?

I found and bought him a great pair of swim shorts from Nike for $15.  Let’s compare, shall we?

Him:  30 seconds to find shorts, Cost: $15.

Me: 2 hours of horrible contortions, Cost: $80.

Is it just me, or is that unfair?  👿

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

3 thoughts on “Fighting through the fitting room jungle

  1. Lovely Post! I, too, try to give out compliments as often as I can because I know that people like to hear them, and I hope that I am giving people just a small pick-me-up for their self-confidence.

    And yes, the amount of time it takes for men to decide what clothes to wear, and the time it takes us, is more than unfair, it’s downright shameful.

    By the way, I am a fellow scribbler! I mainly scribble stories or books, but I occasionally have the interesting muse.

    • Why, thank you! 🙂 I find it odd that I can pick out clothes for my hubby quite quickly (and nice clothes, too!), but when it comes to me, it can feel like a chore. I start out liking it but it’s agony by the end. Sad, really.

      I just love the idea of the scribbler, don’t you? 🙂 Something fun about the word and the action.

      • Completely! It’s a much better word than doodling, which has so many negative connotations. Besides, scribbles can be many more things! 🙂

Please Leave a Scribble

