iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Well, I do have a Congo African Grey…

Leave a comment

Think being a vegetarian, exercising at least 6 days a week and eating healthy meals 90% of the time will keep you safe from colds and viruses?

I wish!

A summer cold hit me square in the nose this Sunday.  Saturday I was just fine – seeing my cute nephews, running their daschund up and down the driveway and playing with our new laptop.  Sunday morning sunshine found me with a very sore throat and a tired feeling that weighed me down to my bones.

Plus, it’s making me hungry.  I’ve gravitated towards toast, buns, and more toast the last two days.  I feel guilty eating it, but for some reason I keep reaching for the bread bag.

These are every bit as delicious as you can imagine. And only about a 100 calories per bagel!

Just another wobble in life’s cycle.  Hopefully in a couple of days I can lay off the Airborne and chamomile tea.

And the bread.

I know I should be thankful that eating too much marmalade is the height of my troubles.  Especially given the fact that with my BMI, I’m like someone from DR Congo.

I came across this nifty tool on the BBC news site that lets you see how your BMI compares to those in your country and around the world.  (I’m trying to ignore the horrible title they’ve given this tool. Seriously, Global Fat Scale??)

It was amazing to see how I compared to other women in the US (apparently I have a lower BMI than 89% of my fellow 30 something females) and, apparently, DR Congo.

Sadly, I know very little about DR Congo, let alone their perception of body image.  I know that they’ve suffered heavily from various wars and genocides.  I know that my African Grey comes from the jungles in the region.  If they aren’t suffering under food shortages, they’re cuisine looks inventive and flavorful.

The tool puts my whinging into perspective.   Here I am, worried about how resting for a few days will affect my pant’s size, when others might wish they could have a safe place to sleep.

Of course, according to this article where “Inactivity ‘kills more than smoking’,” there are many of us who might be resting a bit too much.

But that’s for another post.

Go on, check out how you compare to others in your country and the world.  Perhaps it will remind you, as it did me, of reality.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

