iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Do what you can while still loving life

Leave a comment

My work calendar is starting to glow with blue highlighter as each week gets marked off at the start of a new one.  We’re already into June, and I can’t believe it’s been a month since our vacation.  It only feels like last week that we were dodging raindrops and sipping mochas in a packed bookstore.

You’d think I would have exhausted all of my food pics, but lo and behold! 😀

With the absence of vacation follows the departure of the extra weight I gained munching on iced cakes and chocolate biscuits.  Seven pounds was more than I was reckoning for – a few here or there was a given, but seven seemed excessive.  I was certainly not going to deny myself yummies that could only be found across the pond, but I guess I just failed to expect so much weight in such a short time.

Considering how I was using a cross trainer machine almost every day for at least 30 minutes in the morning, it was doubly more surprising and disappointing than if I had just lazed about all day.

My personal gym while on vacation. Perfect!

This little guy was a welcome sight, even if it didn’t quite melt the avalanche of calories headed its way.  Snugly sitting in the garage, the cross trainer allowed me to select various routines for short periods of time, thereby giving me a range of workout levels during my 30 minute session.  I started off tentatively with the resistance levels, seeing as how I didn’t want to do a wipeout my first day.  By the middle of the vacation, I was firmly skiing my way to shaving off the damage inflicted during the previous night’s food extravaganza.

Burn that fat!

Keeping yourself on target isn’t that hard, if you’re able to resist what’s around you.  For many of us, me included, this isn’t something we could, or want to do.  I didn’t want to spend the entire time denying myself when I knew that I would be back on track the minute we landed on familiar soil.  Sure, I gained some weight, but I gained more memories that will happily go with me through life while those extra pounds are left far behind.

 

Source: google.com via Michelle on Pinterest

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

