iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – ELB 2011

Leave a comment

My Update: Sadly, I missed a post last week.  I also missed the laundry, the weekly cleaning, and ironing.  But I didn’t miss those things quite that much.  Sure, we had to do our laundry Christmas Eve, but that’s ok.  It got done in the end and that’s what counts.

Christmas is over and that means goodbye tree, goodbye cookies and goodbye allowances.  I allowed myself small leeway this past weekend – I didn’t exercise on Saturday.  I ate a LOT of cookies and banana pudding yesterday but I cut pieces of pie in half and only ate a couple of slices of pizza.  I biked for an hour last night and loved my hubby for letting me do so even though it was Christmas night and we had an exhausting day with family.

It was a crazy weekend, but filled with tons of fun, great presents, good weather, yummy cookies, cups and cups of tea and a mountain of empty boxes.

This is what I felt like after the near dozen cookies I ate yesterday.

I’m glad it’s all over since it lets me get back on track, but I always miss the holidays when it’s all over.

Next week is the new year.

I can’t believe it.

It’s scary.

It’ll be my first year into my new life.  New job. New fitness goals. New outlook.

And I’m hoping to stay on track and be proud of myself when the next holiday season rolls around.

I loved being able to splurge this weekend without worrying about my health because I was confident that I’d be okay.  Sure, I still felt compelled to bike yesterday even though it was 10 pm at night, but it was a day of feeling confident in my skin.  I’m in love with this confidence and want to keep it around for the new year.

Homemade christmas cake was eaten by the platefuls until all gone. Alas. It was delicious!

iChallenge Week 52 Topic:  ELB 2011

I started this year with high hopes.  I wanted to change some pretty bad things in my life – my health, my outlook and my habits.

Things needed rejigging and in order to get myself together, I started iscribblings when I heard that a group of women whose blogs I loved to read were going to start a new group to inspire others to live healthily and happily.

This new group turned out to be Eat. Live. Be. and I was super excited to get in on the momentum.  This would be just what I needed to motivate me to keep up with my new choices and to stay dedicated.

  • I planned to eat less dessert than my husband.  I give myself a B -/C+. Some days I was brilliant and gave hubby the larger slice or skipped pieces of chocolate.  Other days we shared equally sized portions.  I rarely ate more than  him, but I could have done better.  I should have turned down more than I did.  I should have stopped buying all of that cheap Halloween candy or the discounted donuts.  I should have had more restraint.  Still, it wasn’t quite that bad, so I think I pass.
  • I vowed to buy grass-fed beef for my husband.  A+, baby!  😀  Oh, yeah! We scored on this one every time and I’m even considering upping the humane meat purchases to other types of meat.
  • I hoped to exercise every day.  You know, I think 6 out of 7 is a good score.  🙂 Perhaps an A-?  I definitely exercised 6 days of the week and my seventh day was always an intense day filled with grocery shopping, cleaning and a lot of movement.  I was even able to squeeze in yoga these off days, but lately I’ve been dropping the ball on the yoga and I’ve MISSED it like cheese on potatoes.
  • I wanted to cook more greens and I give myself an A on this one.  I ate a green filled stir fry almost 3 times a week before my job started.  Once the job started I was able to eat my stir fry at least once a week, but it wasn’t quite as consistent as before.  Still, I take every opportunity to throw in greens or a salad when the chance presents itself, so I’m doing the best I can under the circumstances.
  • I thought I’d cut down on the high fructose corn syrup, but I have to say that I haven’t been reading my labels quite like I used to.  Not that this is a bad thing, exactly.  My pantry is completely different than it used to be and most of the stuff I used to buy isn’t there anymore.  This means that label reading isn’t as important since most of my goods are good for me, but I need to get back to monitoring the stuff I buy.  So a B- it is.
  • The last thing on my list would be the hardest and I knew that when I wrote it.  For the longest time, I struggled with body issues and when I dreamed of loving my body again, I wasn’t sure what this would mean.  I didn’t realize how much I would have to get through and how much more needs to be done.  I didn’t anticipate how losing weight through healthy choices would make me even more aware of my body than before.  I didn’t anticipate how others would view my choices or how embarrassed I’d feel for having lost weight and staying healthy.  I had to relearn who I was in this new body and accept what I had (or didn’t have).  I’m not sure where I really am in this goal, but there are more good days than bad lately, so perhaps I’m more of a C or C+.

Even though the ELB group fell apart mid-year and then reformed again earlier this month, the group helped me to get started on this journey and for that, I’m proud to be a member.  I’m glad I decided to stick with posting my weekly updates since it gave me a reason to share my ups and downs and goals with others.  I hope to continue on this journey next year, although I’ll be jumping off the ELB wagon and start my own sled ride towards a healthier, happier me.

So thank you ELB.  Thank you blog. And at the top of my thank you list: you, the reader.  Thank you for following me on this journey and I hope you stick around next year as I set my sights on new goals and building on the old.

Here’s to a better 2012!

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

