iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 Comments

What am I thankful for right now? Being done.

I’ve finally finished cooking, cleaning and prepping for tomorrow’s big feast.  We always do two potlucks on Thanksgiving and this year I was tasked with bringing:

  1. 1 vegetable
  2. 2 sweet potato casseroles
  3. rolls

So, having just fixed all of that, I’m ready for bed!  Too bad my bed isn’t made since I also did the laundry today. 😥

I cheated on the rolls and bought mine this year.  There were several reasons for this (one being my lack of time), but the most important one was the complete lack of consideration the family has for rolls.  They eat them, but they don’t score high on the list, and I didn’t really feel like working my arms off baking a set of rolls, even though I really love to.  Baking is my stress release, but this time I opted for the help of Sister Shubert’s Parker House rolls.

(source)

My two sweet potato casseroles ended being one with coconut topping another being cranberry glazed sweet potatoes. The veggie is a Creamy Vegetable Medley that includes broccoli, carrots and cauliflower (with cheese, cream of mushroom soup, yogurt and french onions).

Cranberry Glazed Sweet Potatoes not shown.

I also made homemade cranberry sauce for the other sweet potato dish.  It’s divine.  Truly the best sauce I’ve eaten!  I followed the simple recipe on The Pastry Affair’s blog (found here), but I did make a couple of tweaks:

  • I didn’t use allspice (didn’t have any), but added a dash or two of ground clove.
  • I cooked it far longer than suggested.  I like my sauce to be really thick, so I pretty much followed the rule of thumb when it comes to cooking for preserves – simmer until it sticks a bit to the back of the spoon.
  • I didn’t use a full cup of sugar.  Instead, I used half a cup and added a bit more splenda at the end to taste.

Go on, do yourself a favor and make your own sauce this year! Or next, if you’ve already bought the cans.  Or be like me and donate your cans of sauce to your local food drive!

I still have a few things to do before I can hit the sack, but I wanted tell everyone Happy Thanksgiving!  I hope that you’re as thankful for what you have as I am. 🙂

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. There were definitely some foods I opted NOT to make because I knew my family wouldn’t really appreciate them and the cost benefit analysis just didn’t add up. Congrats on being done (more than I can say!) and happy thanksgiving! those sweet potato casseroles sound AWESOME.

    • We had our Second Thanksgiving today for the two of us. 🙂 Leftover sweet potato and veggie casseroles were still just as delicious! I’m definitely going to post the recipe for the sweet potato casserole since I’m now a fully inducted convert to adding coconut to the topping in place of the nuts!

Please Leave a Scribble

