iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Being Thankful Part 2

Leave a comment

My Update:

Well, I weighed myself last Saturday for the first time since July.  I was scared, yet excited to see what my weight was and whether this exercise/eating thing was paying off.

I broke even. 🙂

I didn’t lose or gain.  I think I’ve finally reached my happy weight!

But there was still this evil, little part of me that was disappointed.  I was, deep down, hoping for even a slight loss.  Every time I’ve stepped onto the scale since January it’s read a loss.  I guess I had grown used to seeing the numbers go down and while I have been aiming to maintain, I had started to see a loss as a victory.

In a way it was a good thing that it didn’t go down.  I hate to think what path that might have taken me if I continued to associate loss with happiness. 😕

So, I’m going to look on the bright side of things and definitely see this last weigh-in as a definite positive.

On the food side of things, this weekend is going to be a FIRST in my baking repertoire.  I’m going to tackle the one aspect of baking that people either love or hate.

What am I doing?

I’m making my own pie crust.  😯

I’ve always bought crusts in the past, but this year I plan to go whole hog and make my pumpkin pie from scratch (well, ok, so partial scratch – still using the canned pumpkin, but it’s close, right?).  I’m really excited and I can’t wait to see how it comes out. 🙂  Plus, with work being so busy, I’m keen to get back into the kitchen.  I’ve had little time to devote to leisure baking and this is one adventure I’ve promised myself.  I’ll let you know how it comes out!

iChallenge Week 46 Topic:  Being Thankful

Next week is Thanksgiving.  The day after Halloween begins my favorite time of the year.  The prepping, the food, the buying – I love everything about the run up to Thanksgiving and the snowball turned snowman drive to Christmas.

I talked about being thankful last week and I want to do that again this week.  I spend so much of my time planning and doing that I very rarely sit down and actually consider what’s good about life.  Not that I’m complaining the rest of the time, but life starts to fly by while you’re doing lots of other stuff (if you’re channeling Lennon right now, then we’re on the same wavelength 😉 ).

I’ll post three things that I’m thankful for this week and another three next. So, to carry on from last week:

  • I’m thankful for having the financial security to only need to work a part-time job.  There are many people I work with who tackle two jobs – one full and one part-time.  Some are well into their 60s and others are my age.  All of them look tired and stressed.  We’ve only been in that kind of situation once in our lives, and we’re glad that it didn’t last very long.  It was draining and even though I wasn’t the one who had to do the double shift, I knew that whatever the future brought, I didn’t want to have to go through that ever again.
  • I’m thankful for the free medical checkup that got me my health stats and for having the courage to finally go.  For years I’ve wanted to get my cholesterol checked, but I kept up with the excuses.  It all boiled down to being too afraid to face the reality and what it would mean.  I’m so glad that I’m such a cheapskate that a free medical checkup through my work had me in line at the crack of dawn to get my finger pricked and my life right.  If not, I would still be living in self-imposed ignorance and doing my body an injustice.
  • I’m thankful for my small family.  I have a wonderful hubby and an adorable birdy.  Together they make for fun times and lots of love

    Big Kiss!

    What are you thankful for?

 

 

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

