iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Being Thankful

3 Comments

My Update:

I’m tired.

I’m stressed.

I’m feeling weirded out by the mail I’m being sent.

Ummm, I know I've had a hard week, but . . .

I’m not sure how, but my name has been on the, erm, senior citizen listings for some time now.  I get offers for hospice care and retirement communities.  Now I’m receiving cemetery plot purchase plans.

I’m in my 30’s.

Sure, I feel like I’m twice that some days (this week in particular), but I’m not quite that ready to purchase my plot. 😛

I’m still trying to balance work, “home” work, and life.  I’m hoping for a better week this week, but we’ll have to see.  Everything is getting done, including my daily hour exercise sessions and my healthy eating, but I feel like I’m getting it all done by the skin of my teeth. 😥

iChallenge Week 45 Topic: Being Thankful

For the last week or so, I’ve been “spinning the spoon” on the Quaker Oatmeal Facebook page and hoping for a win.  Every day, I get this message:

I’m still spinning the spoon until the contest ends, but my hope of winning is about as high as my hope of winning the lottery.

And I don’t play the lottery.

Even though I’ve lost the Quaker game every time, there’s a lot about this “you lose” message that I like.  And a lot that speaks to me this week.

I want to focus on being thankful in this ELB post.  Too much of last week consisted of worrying, stressing and complaining.  In all of the tussle, I began to lose a sense of self and about what makes life, life.

  • “Great Days Start with Quaker” – while I do have great days when I start with a warm bowl of oats, local apple butter, and sliced almonds, what I’m thankful for is the ability to enjoy that warm bowl of oats in the few quiet moments of the morning.  It doesn’t hurt that I enjoy my bowl with my hubby. 🙂
  • “You can try again tomorrow” – Tomorrow is always a new day.  Tomorrow is full of possibilities.  But while tomorrow promises a win, don’t let that make today a loss.  Today isn’t over until tomorrow comes, so make the most of today.  Take for example our Saturday:  we changed up our schedule and instead of doing our exercises in the morning like usual, we spent the day having a fun day out together.  We enjoyed a nice meal and we did some shopping.  I still got in my biking in the evening, but I didn’t let consistency rule our days.  There’s been too much “scheduling” going on this week and we rebelled a bit to change things up.
  • I’m thankful, too, for the ability to actually waste a minute of my time each day clicking on the “play” button.  While I fuss about the loss of “free” time, in reality, I have the time to click on the link.  Others don’t have that kind of time.  My life might be busy, but in a lot of ways, that’s a good thing.  It means an income, security and living out my possibilities.  It means doing something I like and not something I hate.  It means experiencing something new and developing skills that will enrich my life.

I’m totally all for complaining to release stress, but I think it’s even more important to stop sometimes and remember all that is actually good with life and be thankful.

What are you thankful for? 🙂

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

3 thoughts on “Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Being Thankful

  1. Pingback: Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Being Thankful Part 2 | iscribblings

  2. I love how you took something that could be construed as a negative and turned it into a positive! The glass half full approach is always best, in my opinion!

    • It’s best, but sure difficult sometimes! Still, I think in the end what’s important is that you see the bright side of things even if it takes a lot of grumbling to get there. 😉

Please Leave a Scribble

