iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Review: VacuVin Pineapple Slicer

Leave a comment

This post really ought to be a photo roundup, but when I went to go through my October pics, I ended up with very few to choose from.  In fact, if my camera really told the story of our lives in October, it would consist of pineapple, chocolate, and haircuts.  I’ve already posted the pic of our chocolate haul, so I thought that it would be cheating to post it again.

Who's got any shame? Not me. Chocolate Festival Haul Repost.

I have a cute new hairdo, but I think you’d find this beauty more gorgeous than any old pic of me:

Beautiful skin, lovely fragrance and a quirky 'do.

Pineapple.  I love pineapple.  I love strawberries, blueberries and figs, but there’s something irresistible about pineapple.  Perhaps it’s the fact that people used to rent pineapples for parties.  Now?  We picked this monster up at our local grocery for 2.99.  Hardly the fruit of kings, but that doesn’t mean we can’t all feel like kings when we eat it.

I’ve always been a bit put off with peeling and coring pineapples.  In fact, I hate to do it so much that we spent extra just to have the store do it for us.  It just wasn’t something I wanted to wrestle with and more often than not, we’d dump more pineapple into the trash than into our bowls.

When my in-laws came this summer to visit, they heard of our pineapple love and bought us this nifty little gadget.  It’s a VacuVin Pineapple Slicer.

Here's the nifty gizmo. (Notice that massive pineapple?!)

It looks a bit. . . wimpy?

I have to be honest and say that I wasn’t quite sure that this plastic tool was going to do the job.  Especially when you set it next to that prickly and heavy pineapple.

The box gives you very basic instructions:

Apparently, they have enough faith in their device to advertise a 5 pound pineapple for the large attachment.  Our pineapple was about that size so we put it together and set to work.

Let me just say that while it might look unassuming and potentially wimpy, this gadget beats me hands down when it comes to coring and slicing and peeling.  What would have taken me half an hour and much muttering, this tool had it cut and ready to eat in about ten minutes max.

I had the hubby do the twisting since I wasn’t sure I would be strong enough to do it, but he was able to do the entire pineapple with only moderate effort.  The slices came out pretty clean, although we didn’t have it perfectly centered so we did get some peel on some of them.  No problem, though, since it was easy to trim once it was out of the pineapple.

Love, love, love this!  It’s freed up our ability to buy an entire pineapple without fear.  The slicer worked perfectly and easily.  I like how it comes with different attachments for different sized pineapples.  I like how it does the dirty work with minimal effort and I love how we can now eat real pineapple.  Definitely a must if you hate to peel pineapple but have a love of the fruit like we do.

(Note: We weren’t endorsed or supported in any way for this review.  It was a gift from my in-laws and we thank them heartily for getting it for us! 🙂 )

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

