iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Ghostly Truffles or Chocolate Covered Cake Balls

4 Comments

Truffles or Cake Balls, however you choose to call them, they are sweet, addictive and always impressive.

My first cake ball.

Shaky picture - maybe it was the sugar rush!

Ah, I remember it well.

Friends, birthdays, silly cards (that were inappropriate for those too young, but not for those “young at heart”) and small chocolate balls of smooshed cake.

I had seen the “cake ball” phenom explode over recent years and always wondered what they were like.

People typically went overboard with the adjectives whenever they described them, making them almost akin to actual truffles and not the pulverized cake they really were.

At least, that’s what I thought until I tried one.

And another.ย  And, well, one more just to be sure.

Gosh, they were good! ๐Ÿ™‚ย  I ate a handful before I knew it and it was then that I vowed that I would make some myself.ย  They were cute, small, and they promised to be just the right amount of challenge to make it exciting.

So, when I heard about the potluck at work for Halloween, I knew I had to do it.

Course, being me, I had to try out something new and totally time consuming on the week I start my first job.

These truffles took THREE days to make, people.ย  ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

I could have done them in one day if I had the whole day to devote to baking, cooling, smashing, rolling and double dipping.ย  As it was, with working late and going in early (we can carpool now and the place I work at is generous enough to allow me to start and end work to match my hubby’s schedule), I only had time in between making lunches and cleaning up my mess to work in stages on them.

Still, I think they came out quite well, don’t you?

I followed the advice from Veronica’s Cornucopia Blog found here and here. (I highly recommend her tutorials – they really helped me out and even though my cake balls still failed at times, I know I avoided a total meltdown by following her tips and advice.)

Some of my little guys did “leak”, but it wasn’t a problem.ย  I dabbed the white candy coating over the cracks/drips to cover them and it sealed just fine.

Note to self: If I want to make any “themed” treats again, make sure to pick up supplies well in advance.ย  I went to the store to buy black icing pens and orange sprinkles, but I came home with cupcake pearls and black and white bark.ย  ๐Ÿ˜•ย  Not what I had in mind, but I think they came out pretty well.

And they’re delicious, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

4 thoughts on “Ghostly Truffles or Chocolate Covered Cake Balls

  1. They are so cute! I definitely tried to resist cake balls for a while but they are just too cute and pretty delicious!

    • Aren’t cake balls irresistible?? ๐Ÿ™‚ I love them now and they’re actually pretty easy, if a bit time consuming. I made these a bit harder than normal by double dipping to make ghosts, but I’m tempted to do some Christmas holiday themed ones for parties coming up.

  2. Aw, I’m glad my tutorial could help you on your first time! I’m amazed at how perfect they are. Such adorable ghosts cake balls! And yeah, I usually take two days to do mine so I understand having to take three. It is a process. You did great!

    • Thank you! I had looked for advice online and your blog was wonderful in helping me out. I liked how you gave alternatives to things (like binders, etc), since that helped me to see that I could experiment and not foul up the process. ๐Ÿ™‚

Please Leave a Scribble

