iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Trying to Maintain

Leave a comment

My Update: As a child,  my favorite cartoon character was Garfield.  I would watch Garfield and Friends every Saturday morning and my room was filled with the orange cat.   I loved his snarky attitude.  I loved that he was a cat when my home was filled with silly dogs.  And it didn’t hurt that he loved my favorite food – lasagne.

I owned a Pull and Speak Garfield that said a few key phrases, one of which was “I Hate Mondays”.

I used to hate them, too, since it meant school, but now I’m a bit partial to Mondays.

M0ndays are a new start.  You can begin all over again with a clean slate. Made bad choices last week? No problem!  Monday is here and you can make things right.

Today is one of those.  I made some pretty shabby food decisions last week (think Panera Brownies, donuts, fritters, chocolate chip muffins and McDonald’s – ugh).  Thinking back on things, it was probably due to my new job and all of the excitement (my bff had a beautiful baby boy!  yay!! I feel like I have a new nephew. 🙂 ).  I felt like we could “celebrate” every day and it got out of hand.

I also could feel my sugar cravings spike every day, which led to some of those yummy bad decisions.  I was probably reacting to the previous sugar session I had the previous day – so in effect I was feeding this craving.

By yesterday, I was a bit sick of sugar, to be honest.  So when Monday showed up, I was more than happy to get back to eating normally and healthily.

I don’t feel too bad for celebrating with food, since it was a pretty good week.  I kept exercising (in fact, I ran 4.5 miles that week!), and I was almost aching to go back to my normal eating routine today.  To me, that week signaled that I could reward myself with food and still keep the course.  This bodes well for the future me, I’d say. 🙂

iChallenge Week 42 Topic: Trying to Maintain

Maintenance.  A word that strikes fear in many dieters.

While I don’t see myself as a dieter, I did lose weight and I do want to keep it off.

(source)

So, I’m wondering what it will take to keep it off and still eat enough to stay satisfied.  Because, you know, I refuse to develop an eating disorder.

I’ve done a LOT of reading and here are some of the articles and resources I’ve stumbled across:

Some of the info is really sketchy – like, “limit (your) calorie intake to 1400 a day.” Um, no.  If I did that, I’d be starving and I would be horribly unfit to exercise.

Or this gem: “Weigh (yourself) regularly.”  There’s a reason we’ve never owned a scale and it’s going to stay that way. (Rule No. 1: Know thyself.)

You really have to weed through the info and educate yourself sensibly.  If you just believe everything that’s written, you’ll be setting yourself up for some serious problems.

Basically, here’s what I’m going to follow:

  1. Eat your veggies and balance your foods – you can have splurges just as long as they are balanced by healthy food.
  2. Exercise regularly like breathing.  Don’t take shortcuts and remember that we’re meant to MOVE.
  3. Keep perspective – your body knows itself better than you do.  If you’re hungry, eat.  If you feel like a run, go.  If you have a twinge-y leg, rest.  Don’t force, but also don’t allow your mind to out-think your body.
  4. Fuel up before and after you exercise in the morning – A weetabix to start my routine and a bowl of oatmeal to end it.  No “but I ate a ton last night” excuses – your body runs more efficiently and energetically if it has something to run off of and that means breakfast!

I’m still trying to figure out my calorie intake/exercise ratio.  I want to eat enough to keep my current weight and still exercise the same.  I think I’m finding a balance, but it’s difficult to figure out if I’m eating enough.  I average 1,800 cals a day with about an hour of exercise 6 days a week.  I won’t be weighing myself until I visit my parents in November, so only time will tell if I’m still the same weight I was back in August.  Hopefully, I’m right on target, and I can relax and stick with my current system.

Either way, I’m really happy at how my body has shaped up since the beginning of the year.  I literally can’t wait to have my cholesterol checked in January, and I’ve even taken the big leap of having my wedding ring re-sized.  I still need to work on my negative body-image thoughts, but overall, I find myself more content with where I’m at than when I started this journey.(source)

(Remember:  I’m not a professional anything.  I’m just a gal who is trying to keep her cholesterol down and health issues at bay.)

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

