iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Cornflake Cake Kind of Day

Leave a comment

My hubby is British.  When we go back to Britain to visit, we always make a list of foods that we know we have to eat: fish and chips, chocolate, and mixed grills feature heavily.  (My list usually features things like baked goods and pasties.)  One of his favorite desserts is the ubiquitous cornflake cake.  Not so much cake but bar, if you’re American.  A bar in circle form – think  rice krispie treat in more solid, chocolatey terms minus the marshmallows.

While it isn’t as pervasive as the tea cakes and cookies you’ll find at general stores and cafes, you’re sure to find a cornflake cake tucked in-between rows of sweets at a local bakery.

When I had my first cornflake cake, I thought it a massive hunk of chocolate with bits of cornflake sharply sticking out of it.  I usually go for the rice krispie version since it tends to be softer than the more brick-y cornflake.

I still think it’s a chocolate bar in disguise, but the hubby loves them and requests them from time to time – especially since I learned how to make them.

If you want a more “authentic” cornflake cake, then you’ll need some golden syrup.  Personally, it tastes and acts like corn syrup (in fact, I’ve made these with corn syrup before and they’ve come out fine).  There might be a more molasses taste to the golden syrup, but it’s virtually the same.  Some people claim differently, but my tastes aren’t that sensitive.  I do use Lyle’s Golden Syrup when I make this, though, since I want it to be as authentic as it can be for my hubby’s tastes.  He’s living here in America so I have to make it worth his while, right? 😉

To shape them, I use Williams-Sonoma’s Egg Fry Rings.

I only use one, so you can sub a biscuit or cookie cutter instead.  I’ve never attempted to spread these into a pan and cut them into bars, so I can’t say if they’d cut cleanly.  You can always give it a go, however, since even the “crumbs” of this cake are just as delicious as the whole.

Cornflake Cake

Ingredients

  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 4 tbsp golden syrup or corn syrup
  • 4 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 cups cornflakes

Directions

  1. In a medium saucepan over low heat, combine butter, syrup and chocolate.  Cook and stir until melted.
  2. Remove from heat and mix in cereal.  Don’t be afraid to crush the cornflakes – just make sure that everything is coated evenly with the chocolate mixture.
  3. Line a cookie sheet or plate with wax paper.
  4. Place the mold/ring onto the wax paper lined plate and using a tablespoon, drop mixture into the mold (either the egg rings or the biscuit rings).  Press down firmly with the back of the spoon.  The mixture will be “soft” and sticky at this point, so you want to make sure that it forms a more “solid” round that will harden later.
  5. Gently lift mold to leave the cake on the paper and repeat step 4.
  6. Refrigerate until set – usually about 2 hours or overnight.

Makes about 7 three inch cakes.  Store in a container in the fridge.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

