iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Tea, Cake and Hugs

2 Comments

Ever have a day where your body dictates to you what it’s going to do and no matter what you can’t persuade it otherwise?

Today is my day for resting, I believe.  Or at least, no early morning bike rides like I had planned.

I woke up two hours after my normal wake time with a decidedly tired body.  I think I was overdoing the exercising the last couple of days (adding in two mile speed walks on top of my exercise routine might not have been the smartest thing…).

So it’s my time to rest, recuperate, maybe work in a yoga routine later on in the day and eat cake with the one I love.

I’ve been meaning to bake Shauna’s (of A Piece of Cake) Triple Berry Danish Cheesecake for weeks, but each and every week up popped an excuse.  Too much other things to eat being the main excuse.  I kept looking at it and wanting it, but I never made it.

Then I came across Jennie’s post from In Jennie’s Kitchen  and I knew that I had to make this cake and I had to make it right then and there.  I don’t know Jennie, but I stumbled across her blog with its delicious recipes and lovely posts the other day and was shocked and saddened to learn of her loss.  Her husband Mikey died earlier in the week of a sudden heart-attack.  I can’t imagine what she must be going through right now.  In a post to others about what they could do to support her, she mentioned baking Mikey’s favorite pie: Creamy Peanut Butter Pie. She had been putting off making it and now she was requesting everyone to make it in his memory.

I don’t have enough of the ingredients to make that pie, but I did have the ingredients to make the cheesecake danish that I have been putting off myself.

So, I whipped this up last night with Eddy helping me in the kitchen and we ate two slices when my hubby came home from work.  It didn’t matter that it was 3 am.  We dug into this cake and ate it happily while we recounted our day’s activities.

Hug your partner, your dog, or your family and eat something delicious with them.  Today. Not tomorrow or the next.

Today.

Triple Berry Danish Cheesecake

(Note:  The original recipe can be found on A Piece of Cake’s blog found here.  After baking this per her instructions, I found that a few tweaks were necessary if when I make this again- mainly pertaining to the cooking times.  As you’ll note, my cake didn’t come out as puffed as hers and I think it was due to the baking.  You’ll see my suggestions and alterations in red.)

For the danish layer:

  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 7 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the cream cheese layer:

  • 1 8-ounce package reduced fat cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature

For the Berry layer:

  • 1 tablespoon  sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 10 ounces mixed berries (I used raspberries, blackberries and blueberries)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease an 8-inch springform pan with butter and line with parchment paper.

The cake layer:

In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder and salt. In a large bowl beat using an electric mixer the butter and sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Beat in the egg until well-blended. Reduce the speed the low and stir in the dry ingredients. Stir in by hand the milk and vanilla. Finish folding the batter by hand and spread into the prepared pan. Bake until the edges of the cake are just set, about 20 minutes (the center will still very soft and nowhere near done–we’re just parbaking the cake layer here). Cool for about 5 minutes.

The cheesecake layer:

In a large bowl using an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese together with the lemon zest and vanilla on medium-high speed until smooth, about 1 minute. Add 1/2 cup sugar and beat until lightly and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Beat in the eggs one at a time until well-blended.
The Berries:

In a medium bowl, whisk together the remaining tablespoon of sugar and the cornstarch. Add the berries and toss gently to combine. Sprinkle the berries evenly over the parbaked cake layer. Be sure to not pile the berries in the middle or it will not cook properly – spread them evenly throughout the cake.  Pour the cheesecake batter over the top. Bake until the cake is puffed and lightly golden, and the center is set, 45-50 minutes (I suggest 50 minutes to make sure the middle is actually cooked through). Let cool completely while in the oven with the door open and temperature off for at least 2 hours before serving.

Serve chilled or at room temperature. Can serve 12.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

2 thoughts on “Tea, Cake and Hugs

Please Leave a Scribble

