iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

End of the month photo roundup – July

Leave a comment

What was so great about July?  Was it the near-record breaking temperatures and clear blue skies? Was it the fun birthday party we went to for a good friend of ours (where lots of delicious cake balls were consumed)?  Was it the family that came to visit and the fun times?  Was it the garden that’s finally producing vegetables that are showing up on my plate?

It was all of that and it was my grandmother’s 80th birthday month!

80 years and still going strong!

We had her party this past Sunday and it was a good time filled with sleepy babies:

My cousin's baby girl - she's 3 months old!

And really chunky dogs:

"I'm Chrissy-Sue and I eat everything!"

We had a great time at the party with cake, veggies, sloppy joes, chips and potato salad – down-home cooking at its best!  My grandmother doesn’t do a lot these days, but she had a lot of fun with all of the great grandchildren and family there to celebrate.

Speaking of food, my garden is finally producing delicious veggies!  I have a container garden due to my lack of soil space.  I have a Japanese eggplant, 2 tomato plants, green pepper, rosemary, thyme, 2 types of basil and green onions growing in pots.

I picked the one on the left the other day and will probably pick the one on the right by the weekend.

Home grown bell peppers are the best - store bought doesn't even compare.

I wish I could grow more, but I’m pretty happy with what I do have. I didn’t focus too heavily on flowers this year, although I do have a wonderful begonia and a pretty pink fuchsia.  I also have a delicate, blue plant from my hubby:

I hope it survives the winter because this plant will be even more gorgeous next year.

My brother and sister-in-law have also adopted a stray kitty.  He’s a wee little thing, but he’s getting used to the big cat in the house and their overly zealous dachshund.

He doesn't have a name yet. I'm thinking muffin. Who cares if he's male. 😉

July felt like an extension to June and in a lot of ways, it was.  We had family come visit, there was a party and very warm days.  I’m thinking August is going to be different, though.  I’m predicting mellowing temps, long walks around town and early morning jogs.  Or, at least, that’s what I’m hoping for!

I leave you with the movie poster in my local theater – such a bittersweet moment.  I will miss you Harry Potter movies!  My theater going days won’t be the same without you.

So sad - what am I going to go to the movies for now?

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

