iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Tea for two – Sally Lunn Bread and My 100

Leave a comment

I love bread.

I love a lot of different kinds of breads, biscuits, and rolls.  It might even be more accurate if I said I loved carbs, but that sounds less rustic and exciting.

I love baked goodies.

(There, that covers everything!)

When I traveled to Britain the first time in 2003 to visit my now-hubby, baked goods were at the top of my list for things to eat.  As we dashed from trains and scampered into museums to seek shelter from the rain, we never once happened across a tea shop.  Oddly enough, you’d think you’d be hard pressed NOT to stumble across one tucked into a nook on a side street.

We even stopped by Bath, the home of the famous Sally Lunn bakery and walked right passed (we were running late, again, and it seemed awfully expensive for our meager budget).  Alas, no buns.

Isn't it cute? At least we stopped to take a quick pic.

In later trips, we rectified the no tea dilemma and had many a wonderful tea at kitschy little shops.  I would dollop on thick clotted cream and spread the jam liberally over dense scones.  I indulged in strong, caffeinated teas with cream and sugar.  Luckily for my tummy, we didn’t stay for too long!

Not Sally Lunn's, but this was delicious even though all of the ingredients were ones you could buy yourself.

So, I was quite happy when I came across Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for Sally Lunn Bread.

It was a no-knead bread so it was a chance to tackle another item on MY100 list.  It also contained the bare-minimum in ingredients so I knew that this would be a delicious and easy bread to try out.

Plus, it let me imagine what the bun at Sally Lunn’s might have tasted like if we had only stopped.

This bread is definitely a keeper.  It’s delicious with a slightly cakey crumb.

Apologies for the bad lighting - I took the pic once the sun had set since I do my baking and cooking in the evenings.

It’s a perfect base for jams and spreads and in fact, I had two slices this morning for breakfast – one with Nutella and one with my Spicy Fig Orange Jam.  Both were fantastic!  The bread toasted up rather well, too.  I wasn’t sure if it would hold together since this isn’t really a “sandwich” bread by any means.  It’s more of a dessert bread or a breakfast bread.  Whatever you choose to do with it, it will become a staple in your repetoire.  I know that I’ll be baking this again soon. 🙂

Now that I’ve tackled a no-knead bread, I’m looking forward to other no-knead recipes!

Sally Lunn Bread

(Note:  You can find the original recipe at Smitten Kitchen’s site here.  I followed it pretty much exactly as is except for a few alterations.  These alterations will be in red below.)

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/8 teaspoon (1/2 packet) active dry yeast (I used the rapid rise variety and followed her directions and it came out just fine)
3/4 cup skim milk
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1 large egg plus 1 large egg yolk

Directions

  • In a large bowl, mix 3/4 cup flour, sugar, salt and dry yeast by hand or with an electric mixer.
  • In a saucepan, heat the milk and butter together until the mixture is warm (105 to 110 degrees); don’t worry if thebutter isn’t completely melted. Gradually pour the warm ingredients into the dry mixture and mix with an electric mixer for 2 minutes. Add the egg, yolk and another 1/2 cup flour and beat again for 2 minutes by machine. Add the last of the flour and stir with a spoon until smooth.
  • Scrape down bowl and cover the top with plastic wrap. Let rise for one hour or until doubled.

It was much hotter outside so I set mine on my porch to rise.

  • Meanwhile line 9×5×3-inch loaf pan with parchment paper. Once the dough has doubled, scrape it into the prepared pan. Cover with non-stick sprayed plastic wrap and let rise for a total of 30 minutes. After 15 minutes, however, remove the plastic and preheat your oven to 375°F.
  • Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean. (I only had to bake it for 25 minutes or so and it was done.) The bread should make a hollow sound if tapped with your fingertips.
  • Cool in pan for 5 minutes then turn out onto a rack to cool.

Tip:  I cut a few slices to have the next morning and wrapped them in plastic wrap before putting them in an air-tight container.  The rest I sliced and wrapped in plastic wrap and foil before placing them into a freezer bag and popping them in the freezer.  Now when I want a slice, I just have to take one out and heat it up!  It’s the best way to keep bread “fresh” if you aren’t going to eat it all at once.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

