iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 28 (and Salsa)

Leave a comment

My Update:  Well, this week will be another herculean struggle as I battle desserts and restaurants.  We’re hosting more family starting tomorrow and we have some fabulous plans!  Much munching will occur, and I’m going to have to be sure to work in exercises every morning and watch my eating.

They fly in tonight so I’m guessing that they won’t be too hungry tomorrow so we’re going “light” for dinner and lightly heavy for dessert.  We’re starting off the vacation with homemade apple dumplings and vanilla ice cream.  For dinner, we’re going to have homemade sushi  (inarizushi and makizushi), leftover eggplant and some spinach.   Not sure what we’ll have for lunch, but I have some soup recipes on hand and we have lots of nice bread, cheese, and bacon/eggs.

I love having visitors since we have so few, but the food temptations loom large and persuasive.

Fight-o!

Challenge Week 28 Topic: Compliments.

I will be honest and say that I don’t like this week’s challenge topic.  I was very tempted to change it or not do it at all, but I wanted to stay true to my ELB experience and complete all of the topics.

I’m not one to give out blithe compliments.  Some people can do so easily and I envy them.  I become really self-conscious when I highlight an aspect of the person that I like (even if it’s something like their shoes).   However, lately I’ve come to realize a very important thing:

  • Compliments make people happy.

They certainly make me happy when I hear them directed at me.  I used to get a lot of compliments about my hair and my hands.  People would tell me at the grocery store that I should model for hand creams and others would tell me at crosswalks that my hair was beautiful that day.  These didn’t come as a steady flow or anything, but here and there I’d hear them and they would make me light up.  Lately, I haven’t heard these types of compliments (although someone did say that they liked my shoes the other week), but I have a few squirreled away for remembrance, and I dig them out when I start to feel low.  I loved how they made me feel, and I began to see the goodness in complimenting.

To give someone that bright, unexpected surprise and make them feel good about themselves became a goal of mine.  I try to compliment someone when given the opportunity.  While at work, I tried to say at least 3 things to 3 different people for that week.  I picked things that I truly wanted to compliment them about and it caused me to pay more attention to those around me.  I don’t want to become the type of person that everyone begins to ignore when she says something nice, so I keep the compliments sincere and meaningful.

And it’s not hard to do when you come across something as good as this: Homemade Restaurant Salsa

(Ignore the horrible lead-in. :|I am.)

This recipe comes from one of my favorite blogs: Brown Eyed Baker.  Don’t you just love that blog title?  I wish I had come up with something even remotely as good as that. 🙂  All of her recipes look yummy and they are also very doable.  I end up bookmarking almost all of them.

Michelle posted this recipe and I was at once in love with its simplicity and how closely it resembled actual salsa!  I made this a couple of weeks ago and the salsa is still good after sitting in a tightly sealed container.  So not only is it simple, delicious and quick, but it lasts!

Homemade Restaurant Salsa

(Note: You can find the original recipe here. I scaled down the recipe considerably since I’m the only one who eats it in this house.  This recipe makes about 2 cups.  You can find my alterations in red.)

Ingredients

  • 14 ounce can of whole tomatoes (with juice) and jalepenos
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
  • Juice from 1/2 fresh lime
  • 1/8 tsp ground cumin

Directions:

Add all ingredients to a food processor. Pulse until desired consistency. Refrigerate for at least one hour and then serve.  Store in an air-tight container.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

