iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Fruit I’m Dreaming About

1 Comment

I have been eying cherries for a couple of weeks now.  With summer in full swing, I’m craving these deep red, juicy tidbits of fruit.  At 4.99 a pound, I’ve been resisting, but I think I just might cave this week and buy a bag. I just might bake something with them, too, but that’s after I see how many are left after I dig in.

You’d think after all of the strawberries I’ve eaten this season I wouldn’t be craving them now.  But, no.  Nothing beats a red, sweet strawberry. I love them fresh and I love them in yogurt and in baked goods.  They’ve gone up in price just slightly, 2 bucks a pack, but that’s all right.  I’m definitely buying a pack this week if they’re good.

I’ve been buying raspberries for weeks now since they’re about a buck a pack.  Sooooo good and so easy to eat with yogurt.  We’ve been eating them in mini-parfaits that are super easy to make with ingredients you probably have on hand.

Raspberry Yogurt Parfait

Ingredients

Big handful of rinsed raspberries

1/2 cup-ish greek yogurt, plain

1.5 packets of splenda

1 tablespoon margarine or butter, melted

1/2 cup (maybe? I usually just add it until it all comes together) of crushed graham crackers (I keep the boxed, pre-crushed type on hand for “emergencies” :))

Directions

Mix melted margarine, 1 packet splenda and crushed graham until it forms a crust.  Press into 2 small bowls.

Spoon yogurt on top and sprinkle with half a packet of splenda.  Top with raspberries.  Eat.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

One thought on “Fruit I’m Dreaming About

  1. Pingback: Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 27 (Rolo Brownies Recipe) | iscribblings

Please Leave a Scribble

