iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

End of the month photo roundup – June

Leave a comment

I feel like a broken record, but I truly can’t believe that an entire month has gone by!  We’re well into summer and with temperatures sure to reach into the 90s tomorrow, it’s predestined to be another glorious month.

A stall at a festival was trying to sell this sweatshirt - it was a 101 that day. It was too hot to even look at it.

I want this moose. I want it to sit right in front of our door. The little guy had a "go away" sign, too. Shame we couldn't bring it home.

A lot has happened this month: we went road-tripping where we ate our fair share of food and took too many pictures.

The one time I would not have objected to a lumberjack intervening.

We get to do it all over again, too, in a couple of weeks.  Woo-hoo!  It’s like two vacations in one summer.  We’re having another set of family visiting us for the first time during that week so I’m all a-fluster.  I’ve been planning my menu for months and I hope that we can show them our city with pride.

Funny, that, really.  We’ve only lived here about two years, but the more we see of our city, the more we love it.  There are some really great stores and restaurants,  and we have a killer selection of odd museums.  It feels good to finally live somewhere that one likes.  There’s actually a small, independently owned donut shop just down the street that we’ve never seen before that sells “the best” donuts in the world, apparently.  I’m making it one of my goals to try them out next week to see if it’s true.  Seeing as how we have the best ice cream and cheesecake, I’m having high hopes that it will live up to the praise. 🙂

Speaking of which, this little hometown cafe we stumbled across  on our road-trip had the best cherry pie I’ve ever eaten.  we took numerous photos of it, but none of them did it justice.  The cherries were real (not canned) and the crust was flaky and dense at the same time.  It was gorgeous, but unfortunately, the little place was facing new ownership.  We got the last three pieces of pie (they’ve been selling them since the 60’s) before they closed.

We’ve also been seeing more and more of this little guy in our patio.  We’ve named him Chipper.  Isn’t he a sweety?  I’ve been told that I’ll be changing my mind when he starts to destroy my plants, but to be honest, he’s too cute.  He’s already digging around in the dirt, but he’s so small that it hardly does any damage.

And the fact that I keep feeding him Eddy’s peanuts probably means that we’ll be seeing more of him this summer.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

