iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 Challenges 22 and 23

Leave a comment

My Update:  This week has been a challenge, but it’s been a great experience.  This past week was vacation week so we had visitors and a lot of really fabulous food.  I ate everything from a chocolate Belgian waffle to a veggie wrap to the best banana cream pie ice cream ever.  We stuffed ourselves with strawberries (admittedly in their most decadent form – with cream and pastry!) and drank large amounts of iced tea and coke.  It was a great time and we found a few gems in our area for future eats.

During all this extravagant eating, however, was anxiety.  Was I eating myself back to my original weight?  Would my body not forgive me for this indulgence?  Was I sabotaging any good I had done earlier?

I haven’t stepped on a scale, but surprisingly I feel good.  I might be a tad bit heavier, but not to the point where my brand new pants won’t fit or that I really notice.  I kept up with my exercising during this past week and I calorie counted.  Even though it was depressing to do so some days, I kept at it.  If I knew how much I was consuming, it actually helped me to make smarter choices.  For example, since I knew that I was nearing my “tip over” limit, I opted for a side salad instead of fries with a burger.  This was momentous for me, folks, since I never order salads at restaurants.  But I was able to finally make this decision and feel good about it because at the end of the day, when I entered my numbers into Fitday, my count was significantly lower than it could have been.

Challenges 22 and 23 Topics:  6 Month Check-In and Summer Fun

This journey has been a real life-changing, eye-opening, practically spiritual moment for me.  ELB hasn’t made it so, but I believe that by keeping myself accountable with ELB, I have been able to jump whole body and soul into making my life healthier.  I’m lighter than I was starting off back in January and I’m also stronger.  I feel better about myself, although I’ve noticed an increase in anxiety about staying that way.  I’ve found new tools and new recipes to use in my daily life, and I actually find certain foods less appealing – such as cheese and fried fries.  🙂  I have to say that it’s a definite win, and I can’t wait to see what the next 6 months bring.

What I want to definitely focus on is the mental aspect.  I think I have healthy eating and exercising down rather well, but I want to make sure that I don’t beat myself up about indulging or relaxing when I need to.

This past week saw me with nearly full use of my leg for the first time in weeks.  I was really tempted to go all out to burn the excess calories (I was able to run and walk for two miles for the first time since last fall), but I stopped myself.  I want to take care of my leg so that I don’t have a relapse, and I want to be sure that I’m still thinking about the other me that needs a break now and then.  The 30 minutes of daily yoga have definitely helped me with my injury and with my self-esteem.

I’m really excited about the next 4 months in particular because it’s finally summer!  With summer come festivals, cafes and ice cream parlors.  Sandals and shorts are the loves of my fashion life (next to jackets for Fall) and the weather is perfect for late night walks and festivals.  I love summer because of the many opportunities to go out and have fun.  I just have to be sure to balance all that fun with a dash of moderation and exercise. 🙂

Summer is all about eating - in a good way!

A great falafel wrap at our city's "Taste Of" Festival

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

