iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 18

Leave a comment

To see my post explaining ELB 2011, my goals, and other participants, go here.

My Update: 

Do you ever have days where you feel like you’ve gained back all of the weight you’ve lost?  Did you then look at yourself and cringe?

Do you ever wake up the next day and look in the mirror and think that you haven’t been slimmer?  That your body is just where it should be?

I’ve been see-sawing all week.  One moment up and the next down.  I’ve also strained my leg so I haven’t been able to do the exercises that I’ve wanted to do the last couple of days.  This hasn’t helped me to feel any better, but in an effort to help develop a positive and supportive self-image, I’m trying to think positively.

Positive Thought 1: My strain means that I can do more ab work and upper body toning.

Positive Thought 2: While I’m feeling blah about my body, at least there are bright, uplifting moments where I feel good.

Positive Thought 3:  Even though the Oreo and Chocolate French Silk Cake I’ve just made is an wasted calorie food, at least I made it with skim milk, fat free whipped topping and I used up the oreos in the cupboard.  (Which I won’t restock ever again unless I need them to bake.)

Oh, yes, and that cake recipe will be showing its glorious self soon, too.  Just wait!

Challenge Week 18 Topic: Bad Habits.

This is quite easy, actually.

I demonize food.

Or at least call it bad names.  Like “bad food” or “heart-attack in the making” or “kill me now”.

I also abhor throwing out food, so if one of those “bad foods” enters my house, I’m loathe to toss it even if it contains 200 calories and 10 grams of fat.  This happened to me last week.  I went happily to our “grab ‘n go” breakfast that our apartment was holding and gleefully picked up a packet of blueberry muffins (I’m a sucker for muffins).  On my way back home, I glanced at the packet out of curiousity and stopped dead in my tracks.  It was a bad food item that was about to make its way into my safe, clean home.

I had a second where I thought about turning around and giving it back, but my conscientious side chastised me.

We ended up eating it over the weekend just to get it out of the house.  Could I have thrown it away? Sure.  It wasn’t like the kind ladies that gave it to me would know (or probably care).  However, I was brought up to never waste an ounce of food and it’s downright hard to shirk a childhood of training.

I need to mellow on how I label food.  I need to be more kind towards food and I need to give myself a break when I happen to indulge in them.

I also need to be more careful about food choices so that I can avoid this issue altogether. I’m passive like that. 😉

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

