iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 13

Leave a comment

To see my post explaining ELB 2011, my goals, and other participants, go here.

My Update: I’m very sore today.  My back aches and twinges and I think I might have overdone the upper body work in the morning.  It all started off nicely with a round of weight training for the upper body and then I tossed in some cardio/lower body work.  (My total exercise time was 70 minutes.)

Then I cleaned the oven.

And I really shouldn’t have done that.

But my oven is so sparkly and clean that it makes me happy.

And I plan to savor these happy moments, even when my back reminds me with a quick kick between the shoulder blades.

Challenge Week 13 Topic: Lunch

Lunch is funny in our house.  Like I mentioned in my last ELB post, our lunch menu is fixed.  Since lunch is the “big” meal of the day for us, we usually eat things that others would normally eat for dinner.  Every other day it’s homemade soup, baked fries and sandwiches.

One sandwich that I just love is a blt, veggie style.

I’m a sucker for the Morningstar Farms Bacon and I love to pair it up with lettuce, tomato, mustard and mayo. I’m also a sucker for pickles and I have a jar of perfectly crisp pickles waiting for me when this sandwich hits my plate.

Since our lunches are so funny, I want to talk about my dinner.  I eat dinner alone, and I don’t know about you, but I HATE to eat alone.  It’s depressing.  It’s lonely.  I can’t be bothered to cook anything since it’s just me.

I used to eat a lot of instant meals for dinner.  I would tuck into a frozen meal or a packet noodle dish with a lot of starchy foods on the side.  I didn’t treat my dinners well at all and it showed when I went for my checkup.

I still hate to eat alone, but I’ve finally tackled my meal planning.  I cook a LOT of stir fry.  Here’s the ingredient list:

  • sliced onion
  • sliced mushroom
  • turnip greens
  • broccolini (occasionally)
  • baby bok choy
  • garlic
  • soy
  • egg substitute
  • brown rice

And that’s it.  I don’t even cook it using oil, only nonstick spray.  I plop it all nice and warm on top of one cup of rice (I cook a batch of rice every week to last me about 3 meals).  It’s horribly healthy, but it also tastes really good.  I feel like I’ve eaten a decent meal and the sheer amount of vegetable power in the dish makes me feel like I’ve reached the top of the food pyramid.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

