iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 12

Leave a comment

To see my post explaining ELB 2011, my goals, and other participants, go here.

My Update: I’ve noticed that my ELB updates are becoming more and more difficult to write up since I’m at risk of repeating myself every week.  On the one hand, that’s great since it means that I’m staying on target.  This week proved to be another good week: still exercising every day and eating sensibly (except for Saturday when I caved a bit at my parents’ house).

I did have a personal earthquake that has created definite cracks in my distorted body image.

This week is my “water retention” time of the month *ahem*.  I feel heavy and I even think that I look heavier than I did last week.  I know that it’ll soon be back to normal and that I’m not actually heavier in any real sense, but this time always brings back all of the negative thoughts.  I fixate on my thighs, my calves, and my stomach.  I fixated so much this week, that I was determined not to step on the scale when we went to my parents’ over the weekend.

As I watched my hubby weigh himself, I just couldn’t resist.  (This is why we don’t have a scale in this house.)  The pull of knowing and verifying my weight increase was so strong that I hopped on just as my hubby stepped off. Yes, that’s right.  I actually wanted to prove myself right that I was fat.  Sad.

I looked down and. . . what?  What’s that say?  You’ve got to be kidding.

2 pounds LESS than my last weigh-in?!

I couldn’t believe it.  I felt FAT.  I felt like I was lugging around a barrel of water and yet I was 2 pounds lighter.  Surely I should be about 4 pounds heavier?  Surely I should be nodding sagely at the weight increase since I already knew that I was a beached whale (at least I felt like one).  I am embarrassed to say that I literally squealed (and jumped a bit and ran to tell my parents right away – I was reduced to my 10 year old self).

This experience has finally taught me something very important:

Just because I feel fat doesn’t mean I am.

My mind hasn’t a clue what my body is actually doing and it is constantly trying to make me feel like it’s failing.  Well, HA!  Now when I look at myself and I think “yuck, just look at that,” I remember just how wrong my mind was about my weight and I begin to doubt my own negative reactions.

Challenge Week 12 Topic: A Day in the Life

This week at ELB we’re talking about how our typical day unravels.  I like this prompt since it lets me share my every day routine with you.  Btw, routine is the keyword there.  Our house is typically a very scheduled house – we have specific food days every week (like Curry Thursday or Pizza Tuesday), we wake up at the same times every day, and we eat our meals right on time.

All of this order can be a bit restricting sometimes (like when things aren’t quite working like how I planned them and I start to panic), but it does allow me to get things done.  I know that if I wake early, I can exercise and shower before having to wake hubby.  I know that if we eat lunch at a certain time, it’ll give us enough time to watch some television and muck about before hubby has to go to work.   There are the rare days where “anything goes” rules (primarily on the weekend), but for the most part our house runs like clockwork.

Every morning sees me completing about an hour of exercise.

  • Monday: Upper body strength training + light aerobics
  • Tuesday: Upper and Lower body Pilates
  • Wednesday: Matrix workout
  • Thursday: High impact aerobics
  • Friday: Lower body strength training
  • Saturday: Cardio
  • Sunday: Cardio (aeroboxing)

Breakfast is as follows:

  • Monday: Oatmeal
  • Tuesday: Toast
  • Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: Oatmeal
  • Saturday: Pancakes
  • Sunday: Pancakes or French Toast

My snacks consist of grapes, oranges, wheat thins with peanut butter, or cereal. I might have yogurt and I might also splurge with one or two pieces of chocolate.

Lately we’ve been taking walks, so that’s entered our routine on good days.

Lunch and dinner are almost always homemade (outside of pizza day) and I always try to place either the recommended serving or less on my plate.

I did a calorie count for the first time last week of a typical day and had these results:

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal, 1 tablespoon ground flax meal with 1 teaspoon Cranberry Apple Butter
  • Snack: Banana
  • Lunch: Quorn chic’ nugget sandwich (with mozzarella, lettuce, tomato, mayo, and mustard) 1 serving Kettle chips (BBQ), 1 bowl minestrone soup
  • Snack: 2 cookies
  • Dinner: Stir-fry (using non-stick spray with onion, mushrooms, turnip greens, baby bok-choy, garlic, soy and egg substitute) and brown rice
  • Snack: 1/2 cup honey nut cheerios

Total Calories: 1690

I was surprised by these results, but it was good to know that my eating habits weren’t sabotaging my efforts.  Most of my meals mimic the above with slight alterations.

My nights are very sedentary, but after all of the get-up-and-go of the day, that’s just fine with me.  If I’m feeling stressed, I might work in some light Yoga.

And that’s it. 🙂  It’s horribly structured and I even left out the weekly meal breakdown since it started to look a bit too orderly even for me!  The key thing is that when everything has its place and time, I don’t allow myself any room for excuses to skip exercising or to ruin a meal.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

