iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 10

Leave a comment

To see my post explaining ELB 2011, my goals, and other participants, go here.

My Update:

I went to visit my parents yesterday because a cousin of mine was having a baby shower.  We don’t own a scale (because I refuse to give into that type of compulsive behavior – I just know that I’d be the one weighing each half pound change and angsting about it), so it’s been since my doctor’s appointment in January that I’ve weighed myself (I was 131 at that time).

124 pounds.

I haven’t been 124 pounds since I was in middle school.  I have just been maintaining my healthy eating and exercising and it’s really giving me results.  Not to mention that all of that exercising has really made a difference in my moods.  It’s not that I’m happier, but I feel better about myself after completing my routine.  I also think it’s really important that I don’t take days off.  Once I start seeing my exercises as an option, it’s a quick slide down the slope and into the abyss.

And that baby shower?  I had fruit, some veggie sticks and a piece of cake.  The cake was okay (standard store cake), but the icing was ridiculous.  I’m not a big icing fan to begin with, so there was a lot of scraping going on (I left nearly all of my icing).

I know the pink seems obligatory, but there's something icky about all that pink icing.

Challenge Week 10 – Resources

This week we’re challenged to share our resources that we go to for help.  This is another fail topic for me.  Just like how I don’t really read up on expert advice on diets, I also lack “resources” to help me stay on target.

Perhaps because I don’t view myself as actually being on a diet.

In fact, I hate that word.  It trivializes what I’m going through.  I’m not simply limiting food intake or exercising to shed the weight.  What I’m doing is changing the way I view my meals and my level of activity.  I see everything that I’ve been doing the last year as a change in lifestyle versus a diet.

Therefore there aren’t many resources for me to share.

One thing I have done which has really affected my weight and health is monitor what I’m eating – and by this I mean actually watching the ingredients.

I used to view a home-cooked meal as one that I cooked at home.  A very simple definition that encompassed everything from “scratch” to box.  (My grandmother refers to the cakes made at a particular store as “from scratch”, so you can see where I’m coming from here.)

However, the more I came to understand about cholesterol and food choices, the more restricted that definition became.  Before it might have meant Stove Top stuffing with Kraft Mac & Cheese, a side of potatoes and a protein option.  Now, I know that anything that comes out of a box or a can is probably highly unhealthy for you and I avoid it.  I also realize that even “healthy” options can be deceiving once you read the labels.

With that in mind, I do have a few key cookbooks that I like to go to for inspiration.

First is the 600 Curries cookbook with a lot of different types of curries all categorized by main ingredient (such as legume or vegetable) and with clear directions.  I wish there were more pictures (there are hardly any), but the curries have been delicious and it has helped me save a lot of money and fat/calories/salt since I don’t buy the pre-made pouches.  Each recipe makes a LOT, so it allows me to store containers of individual servings in the freezer.

Image from Amazon

Another cookbook is Cooking Light’s Way to Cook Vegetarian.  This is a beautiful book with a lot of “standard” recipes – chili, black bean burgers, noodle dishes, etc.  This book is refreshing because it has recipes for standard fare and not gourmet/fancy food.  I like to keep my cooking simple since I’m the lone vegetarian in the house, so I like how easy and approachable this book makes the recipes.  I also love the full color photos and the How-to sections.

 

Image from Amazon

My last “resource” book is actually a bit decadent and not exactly “heart healthy”.  It’s William Sonoma’s Essentials of Baking.  I have made a few recipes from this book each were truly wonderful.  However, you won’t find low-fat recipe ideas here.  What you’ll find instead is the decadent and the simple.  All of the recipes in this book are desserts/breads that you might want to actually try.  Pies, cakes, breads, bars – they’re all in here and they’re all wonderfully pictured and described.  I go to this book when I have a pot luck to go to and I need something delicious and beautiful (the how-to sections are really informative).

 

Image from Amazon

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

