iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 7

1 Comment

To see my post explaining ELB 2011, my goals, and other participants, go here.

My Update: This weekend left me with a LOT of really good groceries and a bit of guilt at the amount of money I spent on them.  My parents came down to visit and, as typical, they wanted to go grocery shopping.  There are a number of asian grocery stores in the area, and they wanted to see what this thing called “Trader Joe’s” was all about.

We’re lucky to live practically stick-throwing distance from Trader Joe’s, so after a nice lunch at IHOP, we went grocery shopping.  We had underestimated the sheer amount of people planning to go to Joe’s – it was packed and it took ages to find a parking spot.  Once we did, I grabbed a basket and starting picking up my favorite items:

  • Stir Fried Vegetable Egg rolls
  • Portobello Stuffed Ravioli
  • Breaded Eggplant cutlets
  • Tandoori Nan Bread
  • Bean and Rice burritos

Mom bought a few items I recommended and after checking out (btw, I love the little packets of food at the checkout line that you can taste – lemon cookies!) we left to go to a little farmer’s market up the street.  I wasn’t expecting much here, but I found black lentils!  BLACK lentils!!  I have been searching for these ever since I set my heart on a recipe in Iyer’s 600 Curries cookbook.

Photo from Amazon

I’ve made a few curries from this book already and all of them have come out really well.  Next week’s curry day will feature a lovely Slow Cooked Creamy Black Lentil recipe.  🙂  I’m really excited.

(Embarrassing moment: I was so excited, that I started to prep my dried kidney beans for the recipe.  Now I have a cup of beans sitting in the fridge and two weeks to wait.  I’ll probably turn them into sweet beans.)

I was also really excited to finally find sun-dried tomatoes without the oil!  I can buy a jar at my grocery, but the oil component always made me gag.  When I saw a dry pack of these at the market, I scooped them right up!  Now I can’t wait to see what I can do with them.

After the market (where my mom bought dates and dandelion greens), we went to our two asian grocery stores.  I bought everything from hubby’s beloved gyudon and mackerel to mochiko and a huge pack of imagawayaki on sale!

I was a happy woman.

Although I had to skip out on the sembei since it would be the equivalent of my scarfing an entire bag of potato chips by myself (hubby isn’t keen on them).  *sighs*  I’ll just wait until I can’t take it anymore and cave. 😉

(Food Confession – It’s Valentine’s day and since the hubby and I are trying to scrimp and save during my time of “in-between-ness,” we dipped into a box of truffles that we had bought over Christmas.  It was a box of the very yummy See’s chocolates and I had 3.  THREE.  Ah well, feel the love. 🙂 Course, after all that chocolate my stomach might just take me up on that. *sighs*)

Challenge Week 7: Ask the pros.

Apparently, we’re supposed to dole out advise from the pros about something health related.  I have to admit that I’ve fretted about this prompt since 1) I don’t know any nutritionists or famous dietitians to ask for advice and 2) I don’t really read up on health advice.

I’ve read a grand total of 1 book on health and diet: You on  a Diet by Dr. Oz

 

Photo from Amazon

For some reason, I dislike reading about diets and the body.  Oz’s book is really approachable and I just love how they explain everything in a way that’s very easy to digest (how many food metaphors can I incorporate in this post?). The pictures and charts are also informative and it relies on science and not fads.

Even though I don’t spend a lot of time online looking at health information, I do love to read from magazines.  For a while, I subscribed to Cooking Light and devoured all of the tidbits of info they squeezed in between impossible recipes and snooty articles (the snootiness was raised to new extremes over the past year so I’ve ceased my subscription).  Then, I found this gem: Whole Living.

 

Photo from Amazon

I dislike that it’s a part of the Martha Stewart machine, but it redeems itself by providing wonderful articles about health, balance and nutrition.  It’s always focused on the positive and the magazine leaves me with small nuggets of information and a lighter step.

So, while I don’t have any actual advice, per se, I do advise you to find your information where you will and make sure that it’s smart (not full of scare tactics or myths) and uplifting (it’s okay to worry about fats, etc, but make sure that what you’re reading is balanced and not negative and degrading).

If you’re really wanting some good advice (from bloggers that were actually on top of this one), check out these blogs:

Cooking is Medicine – Pediatricians

A Spoonful of Sugar – Jack Lalanne

Eats Well with Others – Prevention, RD

Mele Cotte – Endress, fitness manager

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

One thought on “Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 7

  1. Pingback: Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 10 | iscribblings

Please Leave a Scribble

