iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Cookies – Just what the dentist ordered

Leave a comment

My hubby is having a wisdom tooth pulled tomorrow.  In our house, this means whipping up some of their favorite mushy foods.  So, we have chocolate pudding (made by me), Chobani yogurt, bananas, oranges, cheese sticks and chocolate chocolate chip cake cookies.  It’s a recipe that I found on AllRecipes a while back and it’s our go-to recipe for soft, chocolate-y cookies.  I usually cut the recipe in half and I leave out the walnuts.  Here’s the ingredients:

From left to right:  1 stick unsalted butter, 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp vanilla, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 cup flour, and 1 cup semi-sweet morsels.  Follow the directions found here.

These aren’t healthy.  At all. But that’s not the point.  When dentists wield their pointy tools at you, it’s time to whip up a batch of chocolate goodness.  Seems like an oxymoron, but it’s essential.

When baked, they look like this:

I like these, but my hubby positively inhales them.  But that’s a good thing. 🙂 It makes me happy when people enjoy my cooking.  It makes it all worth it.

Job Update

At the moment, I’m in a funny place.  I have a job in the wings (submitted my resume Monday night and heard from them Tuesday morning), trying to step out and be mine.  But it’s hesitant.

Or I am.

It fits my personality, it’s something I could do well, and it’s full-time.  But I’m plagued with doubt as to whether I’ll like it or if I really will do well.  I made a mistake of googling the position online and noticing all of these things one needs to be skilled at and wondered if I was skilled enough.

Yesterday, I was happy.  Today, I was worried and wanted to backtrack.  Ultimately, I’m a bit of coward.

Still, if they give me the call, I think I’ll go ahead with it.  Obviously, if they have looked over my resume and deemed it worth their time to talk with me, then I must show promise.

And like what my husband told me: if I don’t like it, no biggie. 🙂

Update to the Update – Apparently, I’m not experienced enough. Ha! Oh, well.  No harm done and it was an interesting process to go through.  Perhaps next time things will go better. 🙂

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

