iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Praline Pumpkin Pie with Cream Cheese Whip Topping

8 Comments

“I love the feel of dough!” I exclaimed to my husband.  “It’s just…perfect!”  I was making a new batch of hamburger buns for the week and my fingers were coated with flour and bits of whole wheat dough.  I was at the beginning stages of kneading so the mound was still soft, pillowy and, well, perfect.  My fingers sunk into the warm disk and came out with bits of clingy dough, and I was happy. I never really understood no-knead doughs – it just takes the fun completely away.  Being able to push the dough until it becomes elastic and warm in your hands is one of life’s joys.

pie

Or, at least, I think so.

And it doesn’t matter what kind of dough.  I just love to get my hands into my baking and muck about.

It’s the kid in me. :)

We recently had a Halloween party at work.  Between all of the brownies, hot dogs and cake, sat my pumpkin pie.  While the brownies were devoured before the party was halfway done, my pie was only missing 6 slices. I had cut 12.  Two of those 6 slices were mine (I had saved my hubby a slice thinking that it would be eaten right up – oh, how I was wrong).  I couldn’t imagine what was wrong with my pie.  I had a praline topping with a cream cheese whip.  I had made my first homemade crust and it was delicious and flaky.

pie2

I loved my pie!

But no one else did. (Someone thought I had brought a mincemeat pie.  Mincemeat? Seriously?)

A day after Halloween, I found out why.  Shortly after a coworker opened a new box of Twinkies and set them out on the table, they were gone.  It seems my coworkers like their desserts on the quick side.  Next time we have a potluck, it’ll be boxed all the way.

This pie, though, can’t be made from a box.  The depth of flavor is enhanced by the homemade pumpkin pie spice, the crunchy praline topping and the creamy whip.  This pie is going to feature again at Thanksgiving because it was THAT good.  My hubby really liked this pie and you know what?  We were glad that I brought most of it home.  It made us happy every time we took a bite.  :)  Their loss, but our gain! (Perhaps in more ways than one, but it was worth it! ;) )

pie 3

Praline Pumpkin Pie with Cream Cheese Whip Topping

(Recipe adapted from Pillsbury The Complete Book of Baking.  Pumpkin Pie spice can be found at Lisa’s blog Je Suis Alimentageuse.)

1 pie crust, uncooked

Filling

  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 (16 oz) can pumpkin
  • 1 (14 oz) can condensed milk
  • 2 eggs, slight beaten

Praline Topping

  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Cream Cheese Whip

  • 1 (8 oz) pkg cream cheese, softened
  • 2 tsps milk
  • 1 tsp grated orange peel
  • 1 (8 oz) container of frozen whipped topping, thawed

Directions

  1. Prepare pie crust for a 9 inch pie pan.  Set aside.
  2. Heat oven to 425 F. In a large bowl combine all filling ingredients and beat until blended.  Pour into pie crust and bake for 15 min.
  3. As the pie is baking, mix flour and brown sugar in a small bowl.  Cut in butter until mixture forms small crumbs.  Mix in pecans.
  4. Take pie out after 15 min and sprinkle praline topping over pie.  Reduce the oven temperature to 350 F and place pie back into the oven to bake 30 – 50 minutes (mine took about 50 minutes to bake clear through).  Test pie by inserting a sharp knife into the middle. If done, it will come out clean.
  5. Remove pie once done and allow to cool completely.
  6. Make the topping by combining cream cheese, milk and orange peel in a large bowl.  Mix until smooth.  Add whipped topping and mix until combined.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Serves 10 or 12. Refrigerate leftovers.

 

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

8 thoughts on “Praline Pumpkin Pie with Cream Cheese Whip Topping

  1. Your coworkers chose TWINKIES over THIS?! I’m just confused. Very confused.

    • I know! It was bizarre, but hubby said that it might have come down to the ease of picking up and eating a twinkie vs the pie. Personally, taste trumps ease any day for me, but I can see his point. I think I’ll make my sweets portable for them and see if it makes a difference. (Not that I’m competing, oh, no. ;))

  2. What a lovely recipe! I can’t imagine why they wouldn’t want your pie, silly coworkers. The homemade stuff is always better than the boxed, chemically-filled stuff! Thanks for linking to my blog =)

    • Why, thank you! It definitely added that extra something that I had always felt pumpkin pie needed. :) I loved your spice recipe so much that I’m keeping it well stocked in my cabinet!

  3. Wow, this is a terrific recipe!

  4. Cream cheese whip topping!? That sounds heavenly

    • It definitely made the pie and I think I’ll be using it for now on. The cream cheese gave the topping heft and flavor that paired well with the pie. Thank you for nice comment. :)

Please Leave a Scribble

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers