iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Confidence Project

4 Comments

Emmie of Skinny Emmie wrote a great post today that I can totally relate to: Being (insecurely) Confident

I, too, struggle with thinking postiviely about myself, primarily due to how I might be perceived.  I’m also horrible at comparing myself to others (so I might think I’m smart, but I’ll want to say “of course, but not as smart as…” right away).  It has always felt like a fine line between being modest and being negative.  Over the years, I think I’ve dipped more into the negative side of things than the modest. 😐

Emmie challenged everyone to just list what they think they’re awesome at.  I love this idea, but it definitely makes me nervous!

So, here goes (gosh, I can already feel myself tense up!)

  • I am confident because I’m a good cook.
  • I am confident because I’m a dependable worker.
  • I am confident because I always try to look on the bright side.
  • I am confident because I stick to what I believe in.
  • I am confident because I’m great at organizing things.

And I’ll stop there since I’m overcome with the feeling of being too narcissistic.  (I know!  That was the whole point of the exercise, but I’m blushing here. 😳 )

What are you awesome at?  🙂

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

4 thoughts on “Confidence Project

  1. And you have a great sense of humour, and you are a born nurturer. Plus lots of other things.

    I honestly don’t think it’s easy to see your own good points. I spent a minute or two and couldn’t think of mine. They mainly were ” I’m not as bad at x as some other person who is awful at x”

    • Why, thank you. 🙂 That’s very kind! I agree, we all find it difficult to see our good points, but then to voice them? Heaven forbid! That just brings back all the bad memories from school days where you were teased mercilessly for doing something well (unless it was sports). Saying it all out loud actually feels good, although I can’t say that I feel anywhere near comfy about it. Maybe someday we’ll all be proud of who we are! 🙂

  2. No blushing! (although I know it’s completely hard).
    I’m confident because I started something that people are embracing!

    • Not blushing is horribly hard! I wanted to delete a few of those or put a lot of “buts…” after them. It’s a brilliant idea, though, since now I’m thinking more concretely about what I am good at. 🙂

Please Leave a Scribble