iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 29

1 Comment

My Update: 

Another week of vacation down and more good food consumed.  I was able to exercise every day (yay!) and swapped up the routine with a combination of aerobics, yoga, running and biking.  Towards the end of the vacation I was doing a lot of biking (I did an hour of biking on Sunday) because I felt like it would counteract the all of the eating I had done.  “Real” food wasn’t the temptation this time around but desserts definitely left me failing in my goal to eat “good food.”  I was 7 out of 10 in resistance and while that wasn’t so bad, when I did fail to either resist or split with the hubby, I ate some pretty hefty quantities.  Ah well, vacation is vacation and eating yummy things is an intricate part of having a good time in our family!

Challenge Week 29 Topic:  Wake-up Calls

I started Eat. Live. Be. with a lot of excitement and enthusiasm.  The group gave me the impetus to start my own blog, and it kept me accountable and on target with my health goals.  I loved how I was able to list my goals at the start, and I think I did rather well keeping up with them.

This week’s challenge topic is about wake-up calls.  I’ve already talked about what spurred me to start eating healthy and exercising, so I won’t rehash all of that again. Instead, I want to talk about small wake-up calls in the form of self-discovery.  These are moments where you learn something about yourself that you never thought possible or moments that made you see yourself in a different light.  These can be just as important as the big moments that start the ball rolling since they keep that ball  going so that it doesn’t stall out and stop midway.

Starting ELB coincided with a renewal I was going through both in body and mind.  I am still going through re-discovery, but I’ve learned a lot over the last 7 months.

  1. I learned that I can say NO to dessert.  Sure, it’s not easy and I sometimes feel a bit left out, but I can do it.  Seeing as how I wasn’t ever able to do so before meant that this was one big hurdle crossed.  I don’t say no all of the time and sometimes I split with my hubby, but at least I know that I can show self-restraint and that gives me back control over my body.
  2. I learned that making food for myself can be fun.  I’m not a big self-cook.  I love to cook for others, but I’ve always struggled cooking for myself.  I mean, what’s so fun about doing it for me?  However, with the help of some fabulous blogs and easy recipes, I’m starting to expand my repretoire for my nightly meals.  I now have a 100 list that I aim to work my way through while having fun and learning at the same time.  I approach each meal as a challenge: make it healthy and make it interesting.  I can’t tell you how good it feels to make dinner something to look forward to.
  3. I learned that you can’t rely upon others.  It’s all about ME.  I entered ELB with a naive notion that the group would last through thick and thin.  I thought that we would all share stories about being healthy and having ups and downs.   I saw the group as a crutch, in a way, that kept me on the path to healthfulness.  Instead, I found that the group began splintering off and losing members as the months and weeks progressed.  This can be understandable since it did require a lot of dedication (a post ever Monday on a given topic) and motivation (trying to find an interesting way to approach said topic).  As the group diminished, I found that I was relying upon myself to keep myself motivated.  I drew strength from my own posts and not those by others.  I held MYSELF accountable for staying on track.  I learned that the person with the greatest say in what goes on in my body isn’t the will and enthusiasm of others or a group, but my own.

There’s apparently one more topic before the end of ELB.  I’m very sad to see it go, but I plan to continue writing updates and holding myself to my goals for the rest of the year and hopefully beyond.  I’m not the type of person that does things half-way.  So, I’ll take what I learned from this fruitful experience and build a better ME.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

One thought on “Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – Challenge 29

  1. Pingback: Eat. Live. Be. for a Better 2011 – iChallenge 30 | iscribblings

Please Leave a Scribble

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers