iscribblings

Charting life's circuitous path

A kicky muffin

Leave a comment

Do you  know the muffin man? The muffin man? The muffin man?

Do you know the muffin man that lives on Drury lane?

For my entire life, I thought that the type of muffins for sale would be delicacies – blueberry, apple and cinnamon, chocolate chip or peanut butter chip.  You know, muffins.  With a big cup of steaming joe.

I have been debating about what to do with a pile of bananas and couldn’t decide between muffins or bread.  I went to bed dreaming of small morsels of goodness.  I woke up thinking I’d make bread but by lunch time it had turned back into muffins.  My hubby broke out into rhyme at the mention of my muffin dilemma.

Then told me that the muffins were probably more like english muffins or crumpets.

English Muffins?!

Don’t get me wrong, I love myself an english muffin with melted butter any day.  But who would go to a special shop to buy them? And ONLY them?  What about the cranberries?  The raspberries?  The streusel topping?  No wonder the person in the rhyme is asking someone whether they know him.

In the end, I made muffins.  I wanted a muffin that had a bit of kick (and I don’t mean a spicy kick) but still incorporated two key ingredients: bananas and chocolate.

I whipped up this recipe (inspired by The Noshery’s recipe) and tweaked it with a yummy streusel topping.

Now THAT is what I call a muffin.

Coffee-Choc Banana Muffins with Streusel Topping

  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (about 3 medium)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 cups flour, unbleached
  • 1 tsp instant coffee (I used decaff and you can barely taste the coffee – if you want a stronger coffee flavor, use 1 tbsp)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Line a 12 cup  muffin pan with cupcake liners.

In a medium bowl stir together bananas, sugars, butter, milk, and egg. Set aside.

In a large bowl mix together the flour, coffee, baking soda, and salt. Make a well in the center of the flour mix and pour the wet ingredients into the well.  Stir until just combined. Gently stir in the chocolate chips.

Divide the batter evenly and set muffin pan aside.  Make topping.

Streusel Topping

  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp margarine (or butter)
  • 2 tbsp flour (unbleached)
  • 3 tbsp quick cook oatmeal
  • 2 tbsp mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Mix all ingredients listed above until crumbly.

Top muffins with equal amounts of topping and bake for 20-25 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean. Cool the muffins in the pan for 10 minutes before removing from pan and continue cooling on a wire rack.

Author: iscribbler

A girl scribbling her way through health, love, food and life.

Please Leave a Scribble

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 503 other followers